Gratitude

 

“Feeling gratitude and not expressing it is like wrapping a present and not giving it.”  ~William Arthur Ward

 

Hanna ended up being a lot of rain and not much more.  I am very thankful.  It rained torrentially from about 6:30 PM Friday evening until, well, until well after I was asleep Friday night.  Saturday proved to be a gorgeous day.  It was bizarre, as if nothing had ever happened.  So, thanks for all the well wishes!  It warms a girl’s heart to know you care.

I see that Ike is headed toward southern Florida and then on into the Gulf…perhaps up toward New Orleans.  Hope it changes its mind and heads out to sea somewhere.  Those folks have certainly endured their share.

In other non-storm-related news, Hubby and I have come to the (shocking!) conclusion that we must begin to look at purchasing another family vehicle.  I know, you are all saying “it’s about time!”  The latest development with Big Red is something electrical and now the interior lights, radio, blinkers, speedometer, odometer, gas gauge, and more, are all non-functional.  Could be just a fuse, but nevertheless, I can’t very well drive around not knowing how fast I’m going or how much fuel I have.  SIGH.  I’m off to Dr. Gene’s tomorrow to see if that can be remedied with minimal financial drainage–to keep us going long enough to find new transportation.  OY.  The thought of a car payment makes me want to vomit, but then again, so does the astronomical amount of cash that we have spent on Big Red over the last year.  Either way–if we have a car payment or if we pay monthly maintenance on a sick car….it’s money going out.  I’d rather we put out money every month on something I know is going to be reliable.  Won’t y’all be glad when you don’t have to hear about my car woes anymore??  I’ll be glad to not tell you, trust me.  I am just thankful that getting a new (or new to us) car is a possibility.

Just seems like there isn’t anything too interesting happening these days.  I’ll take that as a good thing.  A seemingly boring life is definitely something to be thankful for.

5 Comments

Filed under Big Red

5 responses to “Gratitude

  1. Wahzat

    I am so happy that it was just rain and no damage. Yeah .. sounds like our personal Gustav experience. =-) So thankful as well.Good luck with the car.. we need a car change ourself… the bearings are going on ours and it is the noisiest thing ever and the a/c…. well that is another story.Hope the IKEster stays far away from you, because it is far from us and the amount of rain it is throwing our way is not pretty!Keep goodg

  2. Tiffany

    DAMMIT… Joell… can you get this to Toni?  I can leave a comment on your space but not her space.  This computer issue is going to drive me crazy!  I know, I\’ve got to get it fixed.  Anyway… can you please leave her a comment and give her my e-mail address?  I\’ve lost hers.  It\’s Tiffany.Morris@att.net
     
    I was just wanting to catch up with her and can only read about 5 seconds of her space right now!
     
    Hugs – Tiff

  3. Tiffany

    I\’m so glad it was a calm storm for you guys!  Gustav dumped more rain on us than you guys got from Hanna!  I will get some pics posted of Baylee in her dress as soon as we get it back from the alteration shop today!
     
    Hugs – Tiffany

  4. Toni

    you are right on about car payment vs. repair money–if you\’re going to spend several hundred a month, might as well be driving something nice and safe and reliable. as much as i hate it, it\’s time to say goodbye to big red.
     
    so glad you didn\’t have to deal w/a monster hurricane…i get a bad feeling about this ike, tho.

  5. Nooner™

     
    Hi Joell,
     
    New Profile Pic, I see. Hmmmm, I recognize those very cute toes! lol
     
    Hey, I\’m going to have serious withdrawals once Big Red is no longer in your household. It just won\’t be the same visiting your space without Big Red in the background! lol
     
    Happy September to you, Joell 😉
     
    ~Nooner~
     

I always love hearing from you! :-)

