Squirrel Conspiracy Theory

“You can’t be friends with a squirrel.  A squirrel is just a rat in a cuter outfit.” ~Sarah Jessica Parker as Carrie Bradshaw, Sex and the City

Take it from my friend Sarah:  You can never trust a squirrel. 

Or even worse–a bored country squirrel.  I always knew squirrels were shifty little critters.  Always looking like they are up to no good.  Just waiting till you aren’t looking.  Now I know it’s true.  Another reason to trust my woman’s intuition.

Sarah tells me that, thanks to a pack of bored country squirrels, she now has her car in the shop awaiting $700 in repairs.  Repairs to some wiring that no longer connects.  Chomp chomp chomp, little squirrels.  Forget about those acorns, buddy.  They’ve moved on to bigger and better things…I don’t know about you, but I’m thinking of taking up squirrel hunting.  Don’t let that cute outer exterior fool you; they are out to get you.

In other news, I have returned to the gym after a summer hiatus. My treadmill experience informed me that I was grossly out of shape.  I am determined to run a 10K next spring so when I realized that I could really only run about 2 minutes at the time (walk 5, run 2, rinse, repeat), I knew the road to get to the 10K was going to be a long one.  I also knew I was in desperate need of some new running shoes.  How did I know?  My feet were screaming it at me.  So I hit the showers and then hit the shoe store.  No excuse now.

And that’s all I have to say about that. 

Today begins day 6 of the 2008-09 school year here.  We are slowly adjusting.  And I do mean sloooowly.  Luckily for us, there’s a holiday Monday.  Sadly, we already really need a vacation day. 

Here’s to vacation days.  Just steer clear of the squirrels.  Cheers.

3 Comments

Filed under Day to Day, Humor

3 responses to “Squirrel Conspiracy Theory

  1. Toni

    It\’s hilarious that in this part of Oklahoma, people think squirrels are so cool, so unusual, so awesome to actually see one. Pensacola is the squirrel capitol of the world, so I\’m immune to their charms. I\’m with you: those suckers are out to get us.

  2. Bill

    Squirrels are rats with tails.  The good thing is that now that you are in the south, you can shoot them.  They\’re also good to eat.

  3. Unknown

    Thanks for the shout out!  I\’m spending my Labor Day weekend shopping for a Squirrel Hunting Gun.  🙂

I always love hearing from you! :-)

