This Is Today

“Flowers are the sweetest things God ever made, and forgot to put a soul into.”  ~Henry Beecher, Life Thoughts, 1858

 

So the kids are back in school and I’m trying to reconfigure my life.  The whole getting-back-in-the-groove-thing doesn’t come too easily to me.  They say the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree and this is true for Jacob and me in the transition department.  Frankly, we are all walking around here like a bunch of zombies at the moment.  I think my lights were out by 9:30 last night and I am still having trouble functioning today.  Sad.

I find it funny, and I do not mean in the “ha ha” sort of way, how you get the back-to-school supply list, put together by and distributed by your school, and once school starts, there are all these “oh by the way y’all need this too” items.  I have now made two additional school supply shopping trips.  Today was one such trip.  I made it fun though. 

Don’t get me wrong, I DO enjoy some shopping.  I think of myself as a bargain shopper.  Now, I may not necessarily NEED what I’m buying, but it is a BARGAIN, so that makes it okay.  At least that’s my rationale.

I have recently joined up over at Flickr, upon the recommendation of my Spaces friend Sheila.  She has me hooked.  I made today fun by making it part of my “This Is Today” project over at Flickr.  You take a photo every day for 365 days and post it to the group.  So I spent part of my day out looking for photo opportunities and had fun with it.  I can only capture so much with my little Canon Powershot SD600, but it does a pretty snappy job, if I do say so myself.  Today’s entry is to the left.  I was treating myself to some Chick-A-Lay.  (Follow the link to find out why I love Chick-A-Lay so much.  But one of the reasons is that they always have fresh cut flowers in little vases on all the tables in the restaurant.  It’s the little things y’all.)  Dorkily, (don’t think that’s a word, but work with me) I whipped out my little camera and was inspired to snap a few photos.  People were staring but I didn’t care.  I am exploring a new creative side of myself.  Then later when I stopped by Staples, I found myself looking longingly at all the fancy cameras.  But who can pop a big ole honking Nikon in her purse, eh??  Those photo ops can happen when you least expect them.  I think it will be a challenge to try to stick with it for 365 days, but hey, that’s part of the fun.  I’ve hung in there for 9 whole days already!

And now is the time when I suppose I should be a good mother and go start dinner and supervise the homework situation.

5 Comments

Filed under Day to Day

5 responses to “This Is Today

  1. Toni

    Yeah we\’ve been school supply shopping about eighty times in the past week. Have you been hit with any fundraisers yet? That\’s where the real fun about back-to-school comes in.
     
    Love the picture!

  2. Jim

    Back to School shopping is a scam.  I bet my daiughter does not use half the crap we buy. 
     
    I have to find out more info on this whole take a photo a day thing.  Any chance you can send me more info?  🙂

  3. Nooner™

     
    Back to school preparations can be taxing, I\’m sure.
    Hey, nice kewl hobby you have going (the daily picture taking). Have fun with it!
     
    ~Nooner~
     

  4. Lena

     
    be back later to read this entry.  But …..
     
    of course!
     
    the less I seek my source for some definitive
    the closer I am to fine
     
    😉
     

I always love hearing from you! :-)

