A little rain must fall.

 

 

“Sunshine is delicious, rain is refreshing, wind braces us up, snow is exhilarating; there is really no such thing as bad weather, only different kinds of good weather.”  ~John Ruskin

It’s the first day of school and it’s raining.  How poetic is that? 

I always feel sad on the first day of school.  For me, it’s just a sign that my kids are on that runaway train called “growing up”.  It is bittersweet for sure.

Emma woke up to her alarm and got herself ready–including doing her *own* hair!  This is new.  Usually I have to say, “Um, can you do something with that bird’s nest you call hair??”  We’ll see how long it takes for this to wear off.  Am I right?  I dropped her off and watched as she disappeared down the hallway.  And I will not go on to tell you how a big ole crocodile tear escaped my eye as I watched her go.  Nope, I won’t do it.  (It was just one tear. Really.)  SIGH. Sniff.  My little girl is growing up.

Jacob was so funny this morning.  I woke him up.  He got dressed, brushed his teeth, etc.  He then came downstairs and plopped himself at the kitchen table.

JACOB:  “Mom, can I NOT go to school today?” 

ME:  “Of course you are going to school and you are going to be fine.” 

JACOB, SMIRKING: “Well, I had to give it one last shot.”

And then, I knew it would be okay.

We did the whole “meet the teacher” deal last night and it appears, upon first inspection, that the ones that we had time to meet, are nice people.  The resource/special ed teacher basically hand picked his teachers and arranged his schedule.  I am very grateful for all the help. Jacob and I met his one on one aide this morning and she made me smile.  Do y’all ever meet people like that?  You just look at them and they make you feel all smiley?  She has this infectious smile and laugh.  And as she opened her mouth, in her wide smile, I caught a glimmer of her Gold Tooth.  Gold around the edges with a gold star in the middle.  And if that doesn’t say “How Do Ya Do?” well then I just don’t know what does.  She warmly shook my hand and accepted my cell phone number and she promptly wrote hers down for me. I can dig it.  So far, so good.

But the great news is WE ALL SURVIVED!  Yes we did.  I am reminded of a little song…We get by with a little help from our friends.  I pretty much distracted myself today with friends, and then an entryway bench that my MIL gifted me for my birthday, which is still a month away, arrived today and I spent some time assembling it.

First Day Comments:

Jacob: It wasn’t as horrible as I thought it would be.

For him, that right there is a pretty positive statement.

Emma:  It was boring.

There ya go.

3 Comments

Filed under Kids

3 responses to “A little rain must fall.

  1. Jim

    Yes.  We are in full on going insane mode right now.  Does it really take an hour to select what "outfit" your going to wear for the day?
     
    She had the sames comments as Emma about her first day back to school. 

  2. Toni

    sounds like cheyenne. even if the teachers greeted every child with a hundred dollar bill and a piece of chocolate cake, school would still be just "alright". you did good, mom.

  3. Bill

    IRT Emma and her hair:Once the females of the species start growing up, they go insane.  This insanity is manifested by them spending a lot of time on their hair, giggling, and spending an inordinate amount of time and money on shoes.  As far as I can tell, they never regain sanity.(The only first hand experience I have of a proto-woman going insane is my little sister.  She went crazy about 1980, and hasnt gotten better yet.  Jim will be by in a bit, and he\’ll tell you all about it, because he has a 13 or 14 year old girl who is in the midst of going insane)

I always love hearing from you! :-)

