Olympic Dreams

 

 

For me, the Olympics is always about more than the competition; it is about the stories behind the competitors.

Ladies…and gents…get your Olympic inspiration here.  I know I have. 

We already know everything we need to know about Michael Phelps–nothing less than phenomenal, I grant you. 

But take a look at these three inspiring women and their stories:

  • Oksana Chusovitina.  Earned a silver medal in gymnastics for the women’s vault.  She is 33 years old.  This is her FIFTH Olympics…unheard of in women’s gymnastics.    
  • Constantina Tomescu Dita. Took gold in the women’s marathon.  Her time: 2:26:44.  She is 38 years old.
  • Dara Torres.  Swimmer.  We’ve heard of her too, but, can I just say three words:  ROCK HARD BODY.  OH, and three more:  41 years old.  Three silver medals in Beijing–career total of 12. 

I’m going back to the gym.  That’s all I have to say about that.

4 Comments

Filed under Inspiration

4 responses to “Olympic Dreams

  1. Yours Truly

     
    Greetings.
     

  2. Jim

    Yes, all very motivational.

  3. Sheila

    hmmm very strange, though I left a comment here!
     
    well let me leave it again. 
    I remember when we were kids and watching the olympics was a great American pasttime. and the indepth interviews. What a shame Jim MacKay didn\’t last for one more Olympics (remember Wide World of Sports).
     
    Yes these are super woman.  I will be lucky if I can finish a 1/2 marathon in 2 1/2 hours.
     
    So glad you joined the This is Today group over at FLICKR.  It should be fun to go through a year in photos!  It isn\’t for the faint hearted though, some posts are really way out there! But there are so many creative people out, just creating for the sake of it!
    hugs hugs

  4. Michelle

    You forgot the swimmer that\’s a mom!  Can you believe that an Olymic athlete with kids?!?!  Someone who has done more than just train since childhood.  Now that\’s a story inspire you.

I always love hearing from you! :-)

