Blah blah blahg

“I will not play tug o’ war. I’d rather play hug o’ war. Where everyone hugs instead of tugs, Where everyone giggles and rolls on the rug, Where everyone kisses, and everyone grins, and everyone cuddles, and everyone wins.” ~Shel Silverstein

 

We are T Minus 8 days and counting here.  The back-to-school train is pulling out of the station whether we like it or not.  We made a brief visit to Jacob’s school today to get a feel for the lay of the land in 8th grade world.  His classes are a little more spread out this year, but he’ll have it down cold after a few days, I am sure.  (Positive thoughts, everyone!)  I have my reservations about it all, but I don’t say anything in front of Jacob about it…he’s anxious enough as it is. 

Sooo, ONWARD people!

What else…we’ve been having a bit of fun here at the end of summer.  We enjoyed a trip to visit some of Hubby’s family in Emerald Isle, NC.   We took a boat ride (not fun–blogworthy in and of itself, but not today) out to a sand bar, with a family friend, and hung out there (super fun).

We went to see Journey to the Center of the Earth…in 3D no less. It was entertaining.  I confess to being more than slightly startled at one point.

We completed a puzzle…1000 pieces!!  “Birds of Your Back Yard” Grandma sent it to us a while back and I thought…Hmm, THAT looks kinda overwhelming!…But I finally pulled a folding table out of the garage, set it up in the living room and decided we would just leave it until that sucker got finished!  Well, it took us probably 2 weeks, but we did it!  Mostly Jacob and me, but it was fun.

We got the kids all registered for school.  Found out who the teachers are, and in Emma’s case have contacted ALL our many friends to see who is in her class.  Turns out that one girl from last year (that we know of) is in there with her.  I’m sure there will be more, but she makes friends easily and I am sure she’ll be fine.

Oh, and we’ve been watching quite a bit of the Olympics.  Tell me, people…was that opening ceremony amazing or what?  I’ve got to give China their props…they have gone above and beyond anything I’ve ever seen before. Amazing.  And any of y’all who saw it too, know exactly what I am talking about.

Here’s a fun tidbit–One of my childhood friends is coming on her annual family vacay to where??  Super South Carolina, that’s right.  We’ve known each other since we were about 9 years old–thanks to our parents who have known each other for many many years.  Our birthdays are within 2 weeks of each other and we usually communicate once a year around that time.  She now lives in Pennsylvania and I haven’t seen her in probably 11 years-ish.  She is one of those people who you just pick up where you left off even if it’s been 11 years since you saw each other.  Where she’ll be is only about 2 hrs from us, so we’re going to head up and hang out.  I know it will be a blast.

And just cause I’m feeling random at this moment–

Some things I’ve come to believe recently:

  • Bactine LIES…it TOTALLY stings.
  • As do band-aids who advertise “no sticking to your owie”. PSHAW!! LIARS.
  • Watching the Olympics is addictive.  Who knew beach volleyball was so fascinating??
  • School should be 3 months of the year and summer should be 9 months.
  • The summer book club my friend Torri and I organized for our daughters and their friends might have been more for us than for them!
  • There are a lot more things in my life that are beyond my control than I thought.
  • Having breakfast for dinner ROCKS.

That’s all folks.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Day to Day

One response to “Blah blah blahg

  1. Jim

    Breakfast for dinner does rock!  Everytime.

I always love hearing from you! :-)

