Just teasin’

“I am having an out of money experience.”  ~Author Unknown

“That money talks
I’ll not deny,
I heard it once:
It said, “Goodbye.””
~Richard Armour

———–

On my hiatus, it seems like there were so many things I thought I’d blog about once I got back online, but for the life of me, now I can’t think of what they were. 

Be that as it may, every day life is never without blog fodder.  If you are looking for it.  It has a certain way of presenting itself. 

Case in point:

I knew I spoke too soon when I mentioned the other day that Big Red was still hanging in there.  Big mistake.  SIGH.  And I KNOW y’all are sick of hearing about my car, BUT…

Yesterday, right when I needed to be taking Emma to her horseback riding lesson, I went to fire her up, except there was no fire.  Oh she would make like she was going to fire up, but she was just teasin’.

SIGH.

But here’s the kicker.  When Clyn got home from work, he got in there and CRANKED HER right up. 

Go figure.  So we decided to get her up to the car doctor ASAP, while she was cranked up.

So, she’s gone to see Dr. Gene.  Sounds like he’ll be able to fix her up…for a small fee.

But I ask you, when do you throw in the towel and say…okay, we’re done.  Put her out of her misery.  When, I ask you, is it humane to euthanize your car?  Yes, I said CAR not CAT.  She doesn’t appear to be in any pain, but she is surely causing me some–mental and financial.  Do you let your car tell you when enough is enough?  When do you decide to bite the bullet and buy a another car?  Is it at the point where what it will cost to fix the old one exceeds what a down payment on a new one would be?  Where, where, do you draw the line??  I just don’t know.

Bear in mind that this occurred exactly TWO DAYS after we purchased our computer.  Coincidence?  I think not.

Talk amongst yourselves.

 

 

Alrighty then.  Let’s move on, shall we?  On to happier things.

Guinea pigs make us happy don’t they?  Yes, they absolutely do.  This is Zippy.  He’s got this sorta mohawk thing going on and so I wanted to name him Mo.  He he.  Or Mr. T, which I thought was cool but my kids didn’t appreciate.  Then I suggested Skunk.  No.  Shot down.  Then the white stripe reminded me of a zipper down the middle of his head and I said that to Emma and she said, “That’s it!  I’ll call him Zippy.”   And Viola! 

He’s been a lot of fun to have around.  Only now I’ve got to arrange pet care for yet another of our growing menagerie of critters whenever we go out of town.  Oh well.  The joys of parenthood.

That’s all I have to say about that.

 

 

 

5 Comments

Filed under Big Red, Rants

5 responses to “Just teasin’

  1. Lena

     
    I get bored with a car after 2 or 3 years.  Hey, I\’ve got a 2006 Miata that\’s getting ready to hit my boredom thresshold.  Only has 9,000 miles on it too.  Great buy.  How\’s $24K sound? 😀
     

  2. Toni

    Talk about your car all you want; this site isn\’t called redvanramblings for nothing. I think when you get to a point where you\’re spending more money fixing your car than you would on a car payment, it\’s time to say goodbye. I been there. I drive all my cars into the ground. Right now I\’m working on killing off my \’97 Saturn. The odometer broke last year at around 217,000 miles. My thoughts go out to your big red van.
     
    Zippy is cuuute! If you already have someone coming to watch your pets, what\’s one more?

  3. Unknown

    If, God forbid, something were to happen to Big Red would you purchase another red van?

  4. Bill

    Guinea Pigs!  yuck…luckily, you can eat them if you were starving.

  5. Jim

    Sorry to hear about Big Red.  I hope it is nothing big.
     
    I liked Mr. T.  I think that would be a good name.  of course, Zippy is pretty good also. 

I always love hearing from you! :-)

