My blue has turned to black.

"Life is better than death, I believe, if only because it is less boring, and because it has fresh peaches in it." ~Alice Walker
 
 
Okay, I think I’ve recovered sufficiently since Monday afternoon to be able to discuss this with you now.
 
It seems that my computer has died a sad, slow, terrible death. 
As have all my iTunes and my digital photos from the last year and a half. 
Hard drive: Dead. 
Motherboard: Dead. 
 
GRIEVE with me, people!!!
 
My Geek says he can build me a new tower.  I say, I can probably buy a new machine for what he’s asking to rebuild my old one.  The Loser that I am, never backed up my hard drive…my friends Bill and Jim are cringing right now–many others of you are as well–but probably because YOU haven’t backed your stuff up either and the thought of it strikes FEAR into your hearts!  My Geek also said that perhaps a power surge is the culprit.  (We did have some bad storms last week)  Yes, I did have my ‘puter on a surge protector, but my Geek says that a surge protector alone doesn’t necessarily do the trick.  Yes, Bill, it was the dreaded KERNEL_STACK_whatever_you_said message.  I just want to bang my head against the wall for not having backed up my stuff.  And then cry because of the stuff that is gone.  Rest assured it will not happen to me again…at least the "losing all my stuff on the hard drive" anyway.
 
It’s really strange though.  It’s like someone has actually died.  I have walked around in a fog for the last two days.  It’s been really depressing.  I’ve been trying to decide if I should tell my Geek to rebuild it or just give me back my dead tower.  I don’t know.  Haven’t decided.  Either way, I’m getting my dead hard drive back and I’m going to let my brother see if he can retrieve anything off it.  My Geek says he has tried several avenues of retrieval, but to no avail.
 
So, that’s the latest on that front.  My advice for ALL OF YOU today…Get yourself a thumb drive or an external hard drive TODAY and back your crap up.  Do it.  Don’t delay.  Don’t let this happen to you.  UGH.
 
On a brighter note, the library is my new hangout.  One can do some serious people watching here.  There are some sights to see, let me tell you.
 
Thanks in advance for your condolences.  In lieu of flowers, donations can be sent to: Joell’s new computer fund.
Love to all my people.
 
 
 
10 Comments

Filed under Day to Day

10 responses to “My blue has turned to black.

  1. Jim

    That is, well, it, OK.  It just sucks.  It does.  But not backing up?!?!?!?!?!  What are you thinking?!?!?!?!?!?!?!??!?!  Just ask Bill how many different places he backs up his pictures.  For me, I backup to no less than three different places.  Another computer, and external hard drive and online at a min.  Now say it with me, OneCare.  Thats right, OneCare.  Go to Best Buy and get yourself a USB 2.0 external hard drive.  Get yourself a subscription to OneCare.  Then let the automatic backups happen in the middle of the night.  While you are sleeping.  Dreaming of all the backup glory going on automatically. 
     
    Don\’t toss the Hard Drive. You might still be able to pull data.  Worse case senario there are company who specialize in that type of thing.  They are expensive but depending on the data, it might be worth it. 

  2. Fairlight

    Ack! I know you pain. We\’ve been living in fear of this happening to us, but instead of 1 1/2 years, try three. Thankfully, last month Mike went and bought an external hard drive and backed up everything. I can now sleep peacefully at night. :)I\’m so sorry that yours died though. Keep trying to get your info retrieved "They" have ways. In the mean time, maybe we\’ll run into you at the library. It\’s one of our favorite hangouts too. 🙂 And yes, there are certainly some sights to see. Thank goodness we have nice librarians, huh? Have a wonderful Memorial Day weekend!

  3. Toni

    yeah, i hope it\’s awhile before I go through that again. you are cracking me up with the funeral analagies…

  4. Nooner™

     
    Hi Joell,
     
    My laptop went completely dead at Christmas time. I was devastated for a couple of days because, I too, had not backed up my files in many months. However, I took it to Staples after reading about their then-new service. They took the hard drive out, loaded it into some special gadgetry, and backed up everything onto a CD. Whew! I bought myself a new laptop and all is now well.
     
    Your a desk top person, it sounds like. Not me. Coincidentally I am right now looking at a basic new Dell laptop to give to my Foofie to replace her slowly-dying laptop. For $399 plus sales tax, the Dell Vostro 1000 has a special this week (expiring today, I believe) that includes free shipping, free upgrade on the battery, and free upgrade to 1GB memory.
     
    My two cents on whether to buy a new one or fix your existing tower: technology has moved so fast that my personal feeling is to abandon the one needing fixing and get a new unit.
     
    Good luck with what you choose!
     
    ~Nooner~
     

  5. Cindy

    After I stopped screaming in sympathy (silently of course … don\’t want the white coated folks showing up do we) … I thought …
     
    You have your very own Geek?
     

  6. Wahzat

    Oh I feel your pain and understand the blackness.I do believe that I will wear black in honour of the dead computer. my heart hurts now just thinking of it. You know I started backing up the other day… can\’t remember why i stopped so I will have to start right back.Other than this awful turn of events how have you been?G

  7. barnyardmama

    Major sadness.  I need to be better about backing my stuff up.  I have the most important stuff on discs, but it\’s not very organized.  I think I would die if I lost my itunes–DIE!  Ok, I\’m being melodramatic, but that sucks! 
     
    KM

  8. Lena

     
    Oh no.  I feel for ya.  I received that rude awakening back in 2004.  I\’m an avid backer-upper now.  Hopefully yo bro can at least get your pictures back.  Damn digital world that we\’re in now.
     
    Where do I send my dollar?
     

  9. Aimee

    thanx for the reminder…i really need to back my computer up…before i lose my life… 
    ♥~♥ :oD the shortest distance between two people is a smile… :oD ♥~♥

  10. Bill

    Ugh, that sucks.  If it IS the motherboard, your disk may still be recoverable.  When you build the new one, stick the old one in with it and you might get lucky!

I always love hearing from you! :-)

