Gettin’ My Gump On.

 

Jenny: Hey, Forrest, were you scared in Vietnam?

Forrest: Yes. Well, I, I don’t know. Sometimes it would stop raining long enough for the stars to come out. And then it was nice. It was like just before the sun goes to bed down on the bay… There was over a million sparkles on the water. Like that mountain lake. It was so clear, Jenny. It looks like there were two skies, one on top of the other. And then in the desert, when the sun comes up… I couldn’t tell where heavens stopped and the earth began. It was so beautiful.

Jenny: I wish I could have been there with you.

Forrest: You were.

 

SHOUT OUT!

So, Toni’s having her baby today!  So exciting.  C’mon Diego!  Just want to give her a little HOLLLAAA!

MOTHER’S DAY

I enjoyed a nice Mother’s Day with the fam.  Posted some pics in my albums.  It was very stormy in the morning, but cleared off and turned into a beautiful day.  Emma created an amazing card/booklet for me called “My Marvelous Mom”…

Here is an excerpt:

“If my mom were a flower, she would be a sunflower because she is bright and positive like a sunflower.

If my mom were a song, she would be a rock song because in my mind I can see her dancing all around the kitchen with me.

If my mom were a TV show she would be a comedy because she is hilarious and always cracks me up.”

Not trying to toot my own horn here, but isn’t that just the best?  Just the sweetest gift EVER.  When I am 95 years old, I will probably STILL have it hanging on the fridge.  My boys also got me a fabulous gift…a massage from a fabulous spa.  Oh yeah, baby.  I am making my appointment SOON…mark my words.  The rest of the day, after receiving my fabulous prizes, consisted of a day trip to Charleston, yummy lunch at Bubba Gump Shrimp (yes, it’s a real restaurant…see the pics…quite tasty and totally Forrest Gump-ed out), and a nice, though incredibly BREEZY, stroll around the Battery.  Love that place.  It was a nice day.  I am thankful, loved and blessed.

LUBIE

Some of you have asked about Lubie aka the Lube-ster, or “Lubie Doobie”, as I like to call him.  Ha ha.  I crack myself up.  Sad, I know…anyway…during his brief life with us, Lubie has become a bit of a hermit.  He likes the safety of his cage.  I took Lubie to the bird-sitter a couple of weekends ago and was chatting with the bird lady.  She reached in there, (gently) yanked Lube out of his safe place and started kissing him on the head!  I was like, HOW did you do that??  She said he has become “cage protective” and so we need to just take him out every day for a bit to get him used to being handled.  We thought we were scaring him and stressing him by trying to get him out of his cage, so we had just been putting our hands in the cage, petting him and talking nice to him and hoping that would get him used to us, but NO.  Bird lady says, Get him outta there!  And so, we have.  He still doesn’t like getting out of his cage too much but we’re getting him out each day and hoping for the best.

And here is his favorite place to hang out:

Isn’t that great??!  Jacob seems to like it.  It’s pretty hilarious.  It makes Jacob happy because he had gotten to the place where he figured Lubie hated him and would never come out of his cage.  Now, Jacob is reaching in there and getting Lubie out himself and is enjoying Lubie a lot more, I think.  There is the whole “crap hazard”, but we can deal with that.

WOOHOO!

I haven’t really shared much about this in the blog, but some of you know that we’ve been the owners of two homes, lo these many months.  Yes, I’ve referred to them as our summer home and our winter home–tongue in cheek, of course. Our Iowa home was rented for approximately 5 of the months since we moved last summer, but the rent didn’t cover the total mortgage…but was a HUGE help.  Thanks to our great realtor, Terri, we are under contract and set to close May 22.  Wish I could say we are making a bundle, but hey, in this market, one takes what one can get, right?  We are very grateful!!  We are happy that we are about to own only ONE home.  Can I get a collective WOOHOO??!!

BRAG PHOTO

As promised, here is a photo of my new niece, Olivia Sinclaire Hobbs, born May 4.  I stole it off my brother’s blog.  Granted, he DID text me a pic of her, but her eyes were all closed and stuff in that one.  This one is MUCH cuter!  Can’t wait to get my hands on her and just sqeeeeeze!  Yummy!  Hope to see them the first weekend of June.  Isn’t she lovely??  Congrats to Scott, Lisa, Victoria and Joseph!

“That’s all I have to say about that.” ~Forrest Gump

5 Comments

Filed under Family, Lubie

5 responses to “Gettin’ My Gump On.

  1. Wahzat

    Oh and that mother\’s day card is priceless. Frame it ! Children can be such sweeties!

  2. Wahzat

    She is awesome!!I love the picture of jacob and the parakeet. My Adam would not allow that at all at all at all. You would probably hear the shrieking from here all the way to where you are if any pet was to sit down on his head. LOL!

  3. Jim

    We eat at Gump\’s every time we go to Charleston.  Sit outside, people watch and eat our lunch.

  4. Cindy

    Woooohoooo!!!
     

  5. Nooner™

     
    Hey Joell,
     
    Congrats on the upcoming home sale!  WooHoo!
     
    Good to catch up on Lubie\’s happenings. Glad he is now coming out of his cage and making Jacob happier. After all, that was the point of having the Lube-ster join your family!
     
    Your Mother\’s Day … and the card and gifts … sound GGGreat.. Good for you!!!
     
    RE:
    "I crack myself up.  Sad, I know…anyway…" <——–
    It was the "sad, I know … anyway" part that made me start laughing outloud .. lol.
     
    ~Nooner~
     

I always love hearing from you! :-)

