Random Acts of Kindness

“Strangers are just friends waiting to happen.” ~Rod McKuen

 

Well, yesterday was an interesting day.  And I mean “interesting” in the most angsty sorta way.

Yesterday was the day that Big Red decided to take a nose dive to hasten her eventual trip to the scrap yard.  SIGH.  Dang her.  Why does she have to be in such an all-fire hurry to get there??  I mean, she’s ONLY got like 126,000 or so miles on her–give or take.  SHEESH.  Why can’t cars improve with age, like a good wine?  I don’t think it’s too much to ask.

Yesterday, I found myself stranded at the CVS pharmacy, which is no more than 2 miles from my house.  I was perhaps looking my most dumpy–sporting my work out gear, sports bra (nothing like a sports bra to really enhance ‘the girls’, you know), hair swooped up in a messy ponytail, yesterday’s make up and my fabulous black expando gym pants.  Yes, looking my best at a moment when you really need to interact with people, yet you weren’t quite planning on it and then seriously wishing you didn’t have to.  Trust me, people, I was a walking billboard for someone needing assistance.  SIGH.  I mean, when your mama told you to make sure you had on clean underwear when you leave the house, she wasn’t just saying that for her health…maybe I should apply that to my outerwear as well.  Hmm.  Definitely something to consider.  But I digress.

Here’s the part in the blog where I tell you how much I love my local CVS pharmacy employees.  Not ONLY did they send some nice girl out to attempt to jump start my car, but when said jumping did not get the desired result, that fabulous CVS employee, Alicia, drove me home HERSELF!  Now, if that ain’t loving your neighbor, well then I don’t know what is…cause I was a mighty scary lookin’ neighbor!!   Yes, there are still kind people out there! 

Keep in mind, I just got a new car battery back in December, so I’m knowing it’s not the battery.  And yet, I felt compelled to rule it out.  You know, just to be thorough.  Mechanic genius that I am, I’m thinking it’s the starter.  But who am I?

You know, there is always a silver lining to every situation.  You can’t always see it immediately, but I think I’ve got a pretty good idea of the silver linings here.  I am thankful that I live within walking distance of both kids’ schools.  So, after the wonderful Alicia drove me home, I walked up to collect Emma from school.  Then, a mere hour later, I walked up to retrieve Jacob.  I am pleased to say, that my breakdown afforded me some extra activity today.  It’s a good thing.    And to make it that much better, my kids weren’t whiney about having to walk home at all.  And if you think about it, it’s a good thing I wasn’t looking all cute because then I would have had to get all sweaty after exerting myself on my walks up to collect the kids.  And, well, that just wouldn’t do! 

It is in moments like this, that I am really blown away by how dependent we are on our modern conveniences…our cars, our electricity, our hot running water, our cell phones, our internet connection…for every aspect of our lives.  Sad really.  And yet, I do so enjoy my modern conveniences.   

So, today, I am going to give a shout out to some mechanic that I don’t know to see if he can work some magic on Big Red.  To see if he can bring her back from the brink of death, just one more time.  It’s been done before. 

C’mon Red!  Don’t fail me now! 

8 Comments

Filed under Big Red, Day to Day

8 responses to “Random Acts of Kindness

  1. Jim

    I hate it when cars break down.  Yes, very dependent we are on them.

  2. barnyardmama

    She\’s definitely got some more miles in her!  Come on, big red.
     
    Toni brigns up an interesting point about not wanting to look too nice.
     
    I live right by our elementary school and I think that is awesome.  Maybe I\’ll walk and pick up Charlie when he starts going.  Of course, I\’m not completely sure what his walking situation will be, so we\’ll see.
     
    I have a friends who always dresses up for plane rides because "you never know who you\’re going to see."
     
    KM

  3. Toni

    I\’ve heard of this "walking" you speak of…
    Out of the 150 times I\’ve had cars break down on me (my little green po-dunk Saturn\’s got 220,000 miles on it!) there was only once–count it, ONCE–when I was looking my most fabulous. I got all the wrong kind of attention from only creepy people–so it is my belief that workout clothes are best in these situations.
    But how great is it to find out that there are some really nice and helpful people left in this world?
    Got my fingers crossed for Big Red.

  4. Tiffany

    That stinks about Big Red… what brand is she?  I have only had one vehicle break-down on me and it wasn\’t fun.  I don\’t like being stranded AT ALL!  You almost get a feeling of sheer panic and that you have to be somewhere RIGHT THEN!  🙂
     
    Hugs – Tiffany

  5. Cindy

    Oh no … say it isn\’t so … Big Red? …
     
    I find I never have an excuse to ask that cute guy for help when I\’m looking all put together.  NEVER!
     

  6. PJ

    Sorry about Red, I sure do hope they can bring her back to life.  Isn\’t it funny how we can get so attached to our vehicles.  I think it was a blessing in disguise in some ways, the kids had your one on one attention for the walks home, and that is worth its weight in gold.  We get so busy with life we often forget what is truly important.   I am with you on the modern appliances, I love them, especially my computer (wink) But lucky for me I have a little cabin on the ocean with NO modern conveniences, I enjoy going there and getting back to basics, it cleanses my soul.
     
    This blinkie was one of the 1st. things I made in psp just over a year ago.  Your quote at the top reminded me of it.
    http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y37/patricia_2/friends3.gif   It was a wonderful thing those employees did to help you  and it was wonderful of you to acknowledge them here.
     
    Have a great day!  Patricia
     
     
     
     
     

  7. Lena

     
    CVS rocks.  I think they allow their employees access to the C3 Narcotics bin back in the pharmacy.  A happy worker is….well, a happy worker!  Walgreens oughta try it!
     
    Good luck w/Big Red. 

  8. Aimee

    wow…your drug store workers are really nice there..♥~♥ :oD the shortest distance between two people is a smile… :oD ♥~♥ 

I always love hearing from you! :-)

