Throwback

 

 

Word of the Day, according to my perpetual calendar:

schlemiel: n. an unlucky bungler: chump.

Jerry’s cousin was the kind of schlemiel who, upon finding happiness in a relationship, would always find a way to mess it up.

Now, you’ve gotta KNOW,  that immediately, my LCD mind starts singing…

“1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8.  Schlemiel, schlamazel, hassenfeffer incorporated…We’re gonna do it.  Give us any chance, we’ll take it.  Read us any rule, we’ll break it.  We’re gonna make our dreams come true.  Doin’ it our way…”

I’m guessing that a schlamazel is something along the same lines as a schlemiel?  Just a couple of unlucky, buffoonish type people?  Such as, oh, let me see…Laverne and Shirley?  Just a wild crazy guess.  It’s all Yiddish to me anyway, but it begs the question…who was the schlemiel and who was the schlamazel? 

Discuss. 

That just leaves hassenfeffer, and I’ll let you talk amongst yourselves about that one.

SIGH.  I used to love me some Laverne & Shirley. 

You remember them…those two crazy kids that aired right after Happy Days.  Laverne De Fazio, with her Milk and Pepsi fetish.  Shirley Feeny, with her “Boo Boo Kitty”.  Not to mention the kooky pair, Lenny and Squiggy, from upstairs.  Squiggy and his Cosmo Kramer-esque…”Hellooooooooo” whenever he threw open the girls’ apartment door. 

Good clean fun, it was.  Back in the days of The Love Boat and “It’s de plane, boss” Fantasy Island.  Sonny and Cher and Donny and Marie.  Yes, those were the days…Before the insanity that is, Reality TV.

That’s all I have to say about that.

Enjoy:

3 Comments

Filed under Back in the Day

3 responses to “Throwback

  1. Jim

    I watched all those shows while growing up. Fantasy island was a good one. I even use the Sanford and Son Theme as a ring tone on my phone. 🙂

  2. Toni

    I\’m not so much of a Laverne and Shirley fan, and after hearing about the pepsi and milk thing, I don\’t think I could ever be…I was more Saved by the Bell–Full House kind of girl. And, question: is a SCHLEMEIL the same thing as a SCHMUCK?

  3. Lena

     
    Squiggy was the man!  I loved it when Fonzie would make a special appearance on Laverne and Shirley.  And that damn "L" on all of Laverne\’s sweaters.  Yes, those were happy days.
    Reality TV is something else.  The show that gets me and I cannot watch is Hells Kitchen.  I cannot listen to someone being demeaned because the pasta is sticky.  Ya know?
     

I always love hearing from you! :-)

