How to annoy your brother–1978-style

 

 

First, in recognition of Autism Awareness Month, here are the autism facts of the day:

  • Statements including the words “always” and “never” cannot be applied to persons with autism.  No two are alike.  Autism is a spectrum disorder, which means that people with autism can be a little autistic or very autistic. So, it is possible to be bright, verbal, and autistic as well as mentally retarded, non-verbal and autistic. A disorder that includes such a broad range of symptoms is often called a spectrum disorder; hence the term “autism spectrum disorder.” The most significant shared symptom is difficulty with social communication (eye contact, conversation, taking another’s perspective, etc.).  They are not all like “Rainman”.
  • The word “normal” should only be used when referring to a setting on a large household appliance.  Not when referring to people.

 

Okay, moving on….

Seems like so many of my important conversations with my children take place in the car.  Maybe because they are my most captive audience while they are strapped in those seats.  I don’t know.  But we have talked about Jesus, friend issues, puberty…some serious “opportunities to grow”, as I like to call them.

But this wasn’t one of those times.

This particular not-so-serious moment was born out of a conversation where my kids were asking me what I liked to do as a kid.  I told them how much I LOVED me some Barbies.  I played with Barbies right on up to probably 6th grade…and I say that without shame–keeping in mind that back in the “olden” days (as my kids like to say!) there were no gameboys, ipods, or home computers of any kind.  We DID have an Atari but I’m pretty sure my older brother monopolized that…I don’t recall getting much playing time on that at ALL.  I’m sure he’ll correct me if I’m wrong.  But I’m not bitter about it.  Love you, bro.

While I loved my Barbies, I also loved to sing.  Still do.  Ask my kids.  They get SICK of my incessant singing.  Anyway, as I rode along with my very modern kids, I was trying to explain what a “record” was.  You know, those things we had before CDs, cassettes, um, 8-Tracks.  I had to explain the whole concept, round things made of vinyl, with holes in the middle. Played on a special machine.  The nuances of the 78, 33 and 45 speed. They responded with a hesitant, “Ohhh yeahhhhh, I’ve heard of those before.”  Anyway, I recalled for them one of my favorite pastimes when I was a 3rd grader…and I recall if for you now.

When I was in 3rd grade, we lived in Roxboro, North Carolina where my dad pastored a Methodist church in town.  We lived in the parsonage (a home that is owned by the church specifically for their pastor to live in) and it was a great big ‘ole brick two-story house.  I have many memories of this house–which may be blog fodder for another day.  My brothers and I should compare notes, probably.  I had a dresser in my room that had a big mirror.  Among other things, I also had a record player, a 45 that I adored, a hairbrush, and a silky robe.  I know what you’re thinking:  Where is she going with this?

The 45?  My only one at the time.  Debby Boone’s “You Light Up My Life”, circa 1978.  Probably my older brother’s most hated song of all time, thanks to me.  Because, when I was 9, it was my most favorite song of all time

The hairbrush?  My microphone, silly. 

The silky robe? Well, that was my long flowy Cher hair, of course.  Oh, how I dreamed of having long flowy Cher hair.  Surely I’m not the only one who used my robe to create the hair??  It was a fine art of tying the long sleeves around the underside of my (very not cute short pixie) hair,”do rag” style, with the rest of the robe positioned over the the back of my head, just so, that it flowed down my back.  It was gawrgeoussss, y’all!  With my long silky robe hair, I would stand in front of my dresser mirror, brush in hand, Debby Boone blaring, flipping my long flowy Cher hair, singing my lungs out.  Over.  And over.  And over.  And over.  I’m so sorry I tormented you, bro. 

Man, I loved that song. 

Good times.  Good times.

13 Comments

Filed under Back in the Day, Humor, Random Silliness

13 responses to “How to annoy your brother–1978-style

  1. Karen Thurbon

    My song of choice to torment my older brother was, “Feelings”, by Morris Albert. Especially the, “Wo-O-O….Feelings. You get the picture. Same concept as you, with the hairbrush but I already had the long, flowy Cher hair, just not black….kinda strawberry blonde.

  2. Tiffany

    Since you mentioned the records I have to tell you… Baylee found some paper plates in Mamaw\’s cabinet that was printed to look like a record.  It was black and looked like it had a little hole in the middle.  Instead of saying record she said, "Look Mommy a CD"!  And, that\’s coming from a 3 year old!  Oh, the things they say!
     
    I hope you are having wonderful weather!  By Wednesday we should be back in the 70\’s like last week and hopefully it will stick this time.  🙂  I\’m so ready for Summer!
     
    Hugs – Tiffany

  3. Lena

     
    LMAO.  Long flowy Cher hair.  I had long hair as a kid, but I used the vacuum cleaner handle as my microphone.  I remember 33\’s and 45\’s.  I remember the lil plastic thingie ya had to put in the middle of the 45 so it would fit on the record player.  Life was simpler then.  But don\’t think I\’m not digging this new technology!
     
    You light up my life?  Seriously?  I was all about "I think I love you" by the Patridge Family. *gigglesnort*
     
    Hope you\’re enjoying your weekend! 
     
    LOLOL @ long flowy Cher hair

  4. siobhan

    One of my best friends loved tht song and sang it constantly.  Anytime I hear it I think of her and smile.  WE had a split level home and my bedroom was on the bottom the windows were level with the ground.  I used to crank up some Donna Summer and do whole song and dance concerts in my room.  But I learned to close the drapes once I turned around and saw my brother in the window laughing so hard tears were streaming down his face!

  5. Toni

    And yes, Momma, I have to agree: You ARE JUST THAT GOOD. 🙂

  6. Zhu

     well . I wish you enjoy with your family . have a great weekend !

  7. barnyardmama

    I was never a big singer except when driving.
     
    I also had a silky robe that I used to flounce about the house in pretending to be a Golden Girl.  Hmmm. . .that\’s rather embarassing.
     
    KM

  8. Wahzat

    All I have to say is HILARIOUS!!!
    Have to say though I loved that song too. It reminds me of summer camp wow memories.
     
    my daughter has actually strapped a hawaiian  skirt to her hair give her the flowing hair look. very funny but quite cute.
    enjoy the rest of your week
    G

  9. Toni

    Oh, yeah. The robe standing in for Cher hair? Naturally, of course. The record player? I saw one once–I remember really, really wanting to play with it. There are no other substitutes for microphones OTHER THAN HAIRBRUSHES. 1978 sounds like it was a fun year–bonus points for annoying your brother on top of your good time. He hogged the Atari–he deserved it.

  10. Jim

    My mother made me listen to Neil Diamond. At least, I think that is how he spelled his name.  Don;t really care.  Can stand his music.  I feel the same about his music and I do peas.  Neil, over and over and over.  The same freaking song.  Your so sweet, horse flies keep hanging around your face.  kentucky moonshine, could never take your palce.  I still rememver those lines.  Ugggghhhh.  Help, stop me.  Please. 

  11. Bill

    We must be about the same age, because I remember hearing "You light up my life" over and over and over and over when I was a "TWEEN-ager" (when did they come up with THAT???).  Back then, you didnt have a choice either, you had to LISTEN to it, because they didnt HAVE ipods or CDs or computers with all of your songs on it, etc. it was like the dark ages.

  12. Aimee

    now that was a memory i enjoyed…
    *~* :o) most smiles are started by another smile… :o) *~*

I always love hearing from you! :-)

