Yellow Fever

“It’s spring fever.  That is what the name of it is.  And when you’ve got it, you want – oh, you don’t quite know what it is you do want, but it just fairly makes your heart ache, you want it so!”  ~Mark Twain

——-

Can you believe that I forgot about pine pollen?  I lived in the Midwest for 4 years and that is all it took for me to forget about it. 

About 3 or so weeks ago, I was walking Jiffy here in the ‘hood, and I noticed this yellow stripe around the edge of all the curbs.  It took me a second, but then it hit me.  POLLEN!  The pollen is out in FULL force now.  Everything has this lovely coating of yellow, inside and outside.  It’s pretty horrendous, but a dear friend of mind asked me if I’d rather have a layer of yellow here in the South or a layer of WHITE in the Midwest.  Hmm, I’ll keep my yellow layer, thank you very much. 

I love spring, but y’all I am having some SERIOUS allergy issues.  Yesterday I awoke with a splitting headache and two blocked nostrils.  (Reminds me of our fellow Spacer Cindy and her recent “snot clogged mouth breather” blog)  Plenty of “slag” (Hubby’s word for excess mucous) to go along with the splitting head.  Additionally, this morning I awoke with the above symptoms as well as the “leaky tear duct” syndrome. No, I’m not crying, it only LOOKS like I am!  But ONLY in my right eye!  Yeah, it’s pretty funny. It’s quite the lovely picture, I must tell you.  Then I have what I like to call my “man voice” going on.  It’s like a whole 2 octaves deeper than normal.  PLUS there’s a frog living in there somewhere too.  I could probably sing bass at the moment…”Swing looooow, (croak croak) sweet chariooooot, coming for to carry me hooooome (croaaaaak)”…

So my husband called while on his way to work this morning (around 8) and I answered the phone.  He said, “I’m sorry I didn’t mean to wake you.”  (The kids are on spring break, so yes, I was still in bed, but not asleep.  Enjoying the time to lie there and read a bit)…I said, “Honey, I’ve been awake for a while.  It’s just my croaky man voice.  It’s what I’m sounding like these days.”  I reckon he thought he had called up Barry White or something!  Ha.

Oh well.  The irony is that Jacob had a follow up appointment with the allergist today and Jacob is doing better than I am.  I’m sitting there all runny-eyed and nose-drippy.  Dr. D was looking at me kinda funny.  I reckon this too shall pass.

We had an enjoyable weekend with my in-laws.  The kids rode the go-kart and dyed Easter eggs.  The weather was nice–sunny, but pleasantly cool.  We attended the small country church Hubby grew up in on Sunday.  They were having their Easter cantata.  Little girls with their Easter bonnets and ladies in their finery.  My mother-in-law, in her very Southern way, cooked a mountain of food–enough to feed the entire town.  Quote:  “You cain’t have Easter without some Easter ham!”  And apparently you “cain’t” have Easter without Easter pork tenderloin, chicken salad, potato salad, green beans, lima beans, field peas, sweet potatoes, rolls,corn bread and banana puddin’!!  We reluctantly left Sunday afternoon…an extra five pounds in tow!

A busy week this week.  Doctor appointments.  Shopping.  Sleeping in.  Hanging with the kids.  Getting Emma ready for her trip to Iowa to see her peeps.  She is so excited.  And speaking of excited…Emma had her first horseback riding lesson yesterday–we’ve been promising since Christmas, but had not been able to get her in anywhere.  So, yesterday was the BIG day.  Look at her happy face in the pics…you’ll have to wait through all the Easter pics first, but the look on her face as she groomed “Midnight” and tacked him up and rode him, well…it was priceless. 

Have any of y’all ever just walked around with a kleenex just stuffed up in your nose?  That’s what I feel like doing right now.  Now if I could just figure out how to keep one attached to the corner of my right eye…Off to find the kleenex box…

 

7 Comments

Filed under Day to Day

7 responses to “Yellow Fever

  1. Wahzat

    Oh no this sounds awful. Hope you guys are feeling better now!!I never done that paper in the nose thing, but I have been really tempted though so I know you were feeling.

  2. Nooner™

     
    Hey, your daffodils have been in full bloom, eh? How nice!  Not here yet, but soon. So sorry about your allergies, Joell. For some strange reason the "kleenix just stuffed up in your nose" query got me thinking to a movie. How to Lose a Guy in 10 Days.  The scene: Andie (the gal out on a mission to date and purposely lose a guy in 10 days) at one point stuffs a kleenix under each arm pit to absorb the sweat during as an unhappy event is unfolding. I think she was wearing a cute sundress of sorts at the time, so the sight of the kleenix under each arm was especially funny.
     
    You take care of yourself, Joell. Dr. Nooner\’s orders. 😉
     
    ~Nooner~
     

  3. Jim

    I grew up working on a horse farm.  An impossible job with allergies.  I had none so no issues.  I move to North Carolina and every spring I am helpless against the fight of the pine trees, etc.  I have to take allergy medicine every day.  I know your pain.  Hang in there.  A month or two and then you will start feeling better.  🙂

  4. Aimee

    well sounds like everyone is enjoying break time…
    *~* :o) a smile is a universal welcome… :o) *~*

  5. Lena

     
    banana puddin\’…..now THATS what I miss about the South! (Pappadeux…mmmmmmmm) It\’s just not the same eatin\’ it up here.  You can keep the pine pollen though.  I remember that yellow hue way too vividly. 
     
    I don\’t stuff kleenex up my nose, I just stick pencils in my ears 😐
     

  6. Toni

    Growing up we couldn\’t have Easter without spagetti, along with the ham…I wonder if anyone\’s ever thought about eating rabbit. Enjoy spring–we\’re missing the pollen so far (not a lot of trees in Oklahoma) but it\’s definitely warming up. How often will Emma get to take horseback riding lessons?

  7. Bill

    man…what\’s the deal with little girls and horses?  THAT\’s got to be expensive, I\’m glad my little girl is only two :-)Although I hear they like horses up until the time they stary liking BOYS, so maybe horses arent so bad.

I always love hearing from you! :-)

