Whatnot

“You’d better start mixing toothpaste with your shampoo. You’re getting a cavity in your brain.” ~Archie Bunker (character in All in the Family, 1971)

———-

It’s so odd.  Sometimes I have so much to say and can whip out 3 or 4 blogs in a week and then other times my brain is mush and feel like I have absolutely nothing to say.  I’d say today is one of those days, yet I’m feeling like it’s been too many days since I posted anything, so here’s what you’re getting….time-change-mushy-brain-blog.

Yes, the time change.  Why does losing one hour sleep mess with your ability to function?  Tell me that.  I have felt so sleepy the last two mornings.  My brain feels all mushy.  My kids were like two little zombies this morning.  Bless their hearts.  Hasn’t seemed to affect Lubie, though.  He’s in there just cheerily CHIRP CHIRP CHIRPing away…

Wait.  I need coffee.

…Slurp.  Ahhh. That’s better.  Slurp slurp some more.  I’ll wake up in a few minutes.

Now where was I?  Oh yes, Lubie.  Chirping.  Happy chirping.  Oh, the chirping…it’s almost too much for me today! 

My MIL sent us–er, I should say, sent my son–one of those desk calendars back at the first of the year.  (Grandma is all about educating her grandbabies.)  You know, the kind that you tear off each day.  Well, actually she sent us TWO.  Nevermind I keep my ginormous family calendar  on the fridge which seems to keep this household in fine working order.  I’ve used this same brand of calendar for years now and I LOVE my big ole calendar.  Takes up the whole side of the fridge.  But I digress…

Back to the desk calendar(s).  The one on the computer desk has 365, nay 366 (as it is Leap Year this year), words of the day.  Yes, for every day of the year, you, my friends, can learn a new word.  Words such as abscond, macaroni (?), emote, parsimonious, meme, weal, and verbatim.  Today’s word is capitulate.  Capitulate is a verb meaning to surrender often after negotiation of terms or to cease resisting; to acquiesce.  Now, I ask you, shouldn’t acquiesce be a word of the day?  They also offer a sentence to further define your word:  During negotiations for her comic strip, Sally let it be known that she was willing to forgo the large advance but would refuse to capitulate in the area of creative control.  Anyway, just thought I’d share.  Oh, I mentioned two desk calendars.  The second one is called “College Board SAT” study calender. I’ve gotta tell you that I’m just pretty much peeling those babies off every day and using the back for scratch paper.  I’m so far gone from the SAT days, I just can’t even make my brain try to do those problems anymore.  I mean, why???  So I won’t bore you with the SAT question of the day.  You’re welcome. 

Slurp.  Slurp.

The words from the Mamas and Papas song “Monday Monday”  keep going through my head this morning.  “Monday, Monday, can’t trust that day…”  I will OFTEN get a song stuck in my head on this continuous loop.  It’s not that they’re just in my head…I have to sing them out loud.  Doesn’t matter who’s listening.  This weekend, I had the Boy George (Culture Club) song “Too Shy” stuck.  “You’re too shy, shy.  Hush, hush.  Eye to eye…”  Random, I know.(What the heck does that MEAN anyway??)  She was like “Mooooom!”  I can hardly blame her.  It annoys me as well!  And I said to Emma, “Quick give me another one!”  She looked at me like I had three heads.  Oy!

Monday, Monday…

“Sleep deprivation is the most common brain impairment.” ~William C. Dement (from The Promise of Sleep, 1999, p. 231)

9 Comments

Filed under Day to Day, Music

9 responses to “Whatnot

  1. Lena

     
    I\’m "word fancy".  Never heard that term til I met some guy in Texas who pulled out a dictionary or thesaurus everytime we had a conversation.  Anywebster, I have one of those calendars too.  Yesterdays word was repudiate.  And I\’ll be damned if Steve Doocy didn\’t say that word on FOX news this morning, and then brag about how that was yesterday\’s word on his word calendar.
     
    I may not rub elbows with the rich \’n famous, but I speak their language.
     
    I have a song stuck in my head too now, thanks Joell! 
     
    Karma karma karma karma chamelion, ya come \’n go, ya come \’n go.
     
    Holy shit, gotta go, downtown Atlanta just hit by tornado.  I gotta go call my peeps!
     
    Have a great weekend.
     

  2. Bill

    You still use a PAPER calendar?  I didnt think they MADE those anymore…you should do a family calendar with http://calendar.live.com  It\’s the only way I can keep track of where The Extrovert (my wife) is going and when.Is Lubie the kind of bird that you can teach words to?  You should teach it some bad words, and then blame others for it…that would be good for hours of fun…and better than "CHIRP CHIRP", right?

  3. barnyardmama

    My brain in feeling mushy too.  Are you trying to tell me I can just blame it on the time change?
     
    When you don\’t have anything to say, do what I do: just put up a bunch of pictures.  I think most people would rather look at pictures than read anyway–or maybe I just worked with dyslexics for too long.
     
    KM

  4. Nooner™

     
    "You\’re welcome." <—— HaHaHaHa
    You\’re mushy brain is quite creative, Kid!
     
    ~Nooner~
     
     

  5. Wahzat

    Where was I when you guys put the clocks forward. It only hit me today that all my tv show were finished and I had only just sat to watch the TV. I am bummed! Oh well that\’s life.
     
    Love love "too shy shy"
     
    Capitulate huh?! hmmm thanks I never knew or I never remembered I knew LOL
    Have a great week!
     

  6. Toni

    Yeah, 4:30 p.m…..the witching hour.

  7. Jim

    I have days like that.  Some days I feel like blogging about two or three things.  Some whole weeks I don\’t feel like writting a single thing. 
     
    My vocab is horrible.  My 13 year old daughter has a better set of vocab words than I do.  It seem slike lately the only words I use are Yes, No and Arrrrgggghhhh.  🙂
     
    So it sounds like the bird is getting into a chirping grove.

  8. Aimee

    *~*   :o) if you don’t have a smile to give today…  :o) I will give you one of mine…  :o)   *~*

  9. Toni

    Vocabulary words…where\’s my coffee? I\’m feeling a little too sluggish myself to prepare for the SATs. You have a great Monday.

I always love hearing from you! :-)

