Perfection

 

 

“What greater thing is there for human souls than to feel that they are joined for life – to be with each other in silent unspeakable memories.”  ~George Eliot

———-

 

 

Did you know that the ice cream chain, Baskin-Robbins, of “31 flavors” fame, ACTUALLY has 32 flavors?  I didn’t.  At least not until today.  I would like to add that their pistachio almond is quite delicious.  And though I am normally a cake girl, it would certainly do in a pinch.

As family fun Saturdays go, this one ranks pretty high up.  We had a lazy morning (which included watching some Man vs. Wild, Mythbusters and Dirty Jobs on Discovery Channel).  The weather was pretty overcast.  I was waiting for the lovely day my weather man had promised…and it came.  Finally.  This afternoon. 

Hubby looked at me and said we should go somewhere.  I agreed.  So we did what all self-respecting people do on Saturday.  We went to Chick-Fil-A.  Or as my 3 yr old nephew calls it, “Chick-A-Lay”.  We always enjoy Chick-A-Lay.  The customer service beats out every fast food place I have ever been to in my ENTIRE life.  This is no exaggeration.  Who else says “My pleasure” upon being thanked for what they are supposed to do anyhow?   Some people might say it’s scripted, or it’s too much or it borders on insincerity, but I say, why should we pooh-pooh the politeness?? There’s so little of it in this world anymore.

Ms. Chick-A-Lay, could I have that on a wheat bun with no butter, please?

My pleasure.

Thank you, Ms. Chick-A-Lay, for my extra Polynesian sauce.

My pleasure.

Thank you, Mr. Chick-A-Lay, for my refill of Diet Dr. Pepper.

My pleasure.

Thank you, Mr. Chick-A-Lay, for being so doggone friendly.  It makes me want to eat here every day. 

My pleasure.

Today I even had a Chick-A-Lay employee come by our table and inquire if she could “refresh” my drink.  I did a double take.  What?  Are these people for real?  In my life, I have learned that what seems too good to be true probably is.  Not so at Chick-A-Lay.  Heck yeah, you can refresh my beverage…it’ll be MY pleasure!

We proceeded from our enjoyable dining experience toward Charleston and the beaches.  To get there, you have to travel across the Ravenel Bridge.  Architecturally, it is pretty cool to look at.  But you can’t think about it too much because then you would be all freaked out wondering how in the world can this bridge be carrying cars across it without just totally collapsing…and I mean, that kinda stuff just doesn’t help anybody.  But I digress…

There is a walking path on one side of the bridge and today, since we weren’t going anywhere in particular, we decided to walk up on the bridge.  It was a beautiful day.  We even saw some dolphins playing in the water below.  Very good timing because Emma was starting to moaaaan explain that her feet were hurting and she was tiiiiiired and she was in need of a distraction.  Oy.

After our walk we decided to ride down to the beach to feed the seagulls some crackers, because you know they are starving and on the brink of extinction, right?  Nothing has entertainment value like a good gull poop splatting down on you.  It was pretty funny all those birds swarming around us.  Emma (and I) were running away hoping to avoid the poop.  Fortunately we all managed to come out unscathed.  The birds were pretty annoyed when the crackers ran out.  Both kids felt compelled to pull off their shoes and socks and test the water.  They both said it was very cold, but somehow that didn’t deter them from wading all in it.  What’s a mother to do?  Who am I to deny these children their love of the ocean??  Yes, I know it’s February.  But it’s February in South Carolina, not Iowa.  We all had a blast.  (More pics in the Fun Weekends album.)

We stayed until the sun was sinking down behind the dunes.  There is no better time of day at the beach than sunset.  The kids didn’t want to leave…who can blame them?  They are their mother’s children.  With an ice cream bribe on the table, though, we managed to head toward the car.  After a quick detour to Baskin-Robbins, we made our way back across the bridge and headed home.  I really can’t think of a more perfect day. 

One sleeve Ritz crackers: $1

Lunch at Chick-A-Lay: $20

Ice cream: $8

Sunset at the beach with my family: priceless

  

5 Comments

Filed under Day to Day, Family

5 responses to “Perfection

  1. Jim

    Nice sunset pic.  I still can\’t get those for some reason.
     
    We love "Chick-A-Lay" as well.  It\’s the pickle that makes the sandwich so darn good.

  2. Aimee

    i wish i could go to the beach…
    *~* :o) always remember to be happy… :o) because you never know who is falling in love with your smile… :o) *~*

  3. Toni

    That\’s the kind of family day that makes a GREAT commercial. Man it sounds like you guys had fun. I can\’t stand fast food joints normally; everyone is so rude and the food is cold and greasy; but Chick-fil-A is about as good as they get–and the new ones have awesome playgrounds.
     
    How far is Savannah from where you guys are? I lived there for about 2 years and that place is freakin\’ fun–especially with St. Patrick\’s Day coming up. I\’m just sayin\’…

  4. Sarah

    Did you know that the founder of Chick-fil-a is a Christian?  Yep.  We talked about the customer service he trains his chains to use in our Financial Peace University class.  Yeah!

  5. Lena

     
    OK I am officially JEALOUS!  Charleston & Chick Fila. 
     
    Love me some Charleston.   We drive over there every summer from Hilton Head so Josh can play on the USS (fill in the blank). I forget the name of that carrier down there.  I agree.  That bridge is uber cool and its views are breathtaking.  Come summer, I\’ll be on my beach every weekend (cept the two when we\’re away) watching the sun sink \’n sizzle into the ocean.
     
    Well, it\’s time for my mundane ass in my humdrum city to finish cleaning my house.  Enjoy what\’s left of the weekend with that beautiful family.
     
     
     

I always love hearing from you! :-)

