Copper Moon and Bird Brilliance

 

“Success is full of promise till one gets it, and then it seems
like a nest from which the bird has flown.” ~Henry Ward Beecher

————–

Well, we really enjoyed the eclipse last night.  Unlike some of my spaces friends (Bill and Sheila) I did not take any pics, because my very fancy Canon PowerShot SD600 was just not cutting it.  Bill and Sheila, however got some great photos and I’m betting my friend Jim might have taken some as well…we’ll just have to wait and see.   I think Jacob and Hubby loved it the most. 

About 8 PM last night I noticed Jacob kept stepping out the front door.  I asked him what he was doing and he gave the standard “nothing” as his response.  Then I realized he was looking at the moon.  We had a great view out our front door.  We kept going out and checking it periodically.  It was, for lack of a better term, REALLY COOL.  When we last looked at it about 10 PM, it was a nice copper color and the majority of the moon was eclipsed.  So, I guess I’m all good till 2010.

I have a very freaked out dog on my hands.  Poor Jiffy is not adjusting well to Lubie’s arrival.  She is lying on my lap as I type at the computer and she NEVER has wanted to do that before.  Now that Lubie is “coming out of his coma” and being more active and “tweety”,  Jiffy will go stand under Lubie’s cage and growl and bark.  We have been working hard to correct her consistently.  I think Cesar Millan would be proud.  When Jiffy hears anyone talking to Lubie, she gets so jealous and comes running!  Hopefully she will adjust and things will calm down. 

The other new development, is that our brilliant bird can lift the door to his cage!!  He knows not what he does!!!  This is a disaster waiting to happen.  Or should I say, this is a little Birdie snack for Jiffy waiting to happen. 

Being the MacGyver that I am, I have utilized some handy dandy twist ties to keep the doors closed.  Such a brilliant bird we have.  Hopefully he doesn’t chew through the twisties.  Keeping my fingers crossed and my twisties tied.

8 Comments

Filed under Day to Day, Lubie

8 responses to “Copper Moon and Bird Brilliance

  1. Jim

    Wow.  That bird is going to get out and destroy the house. 
     
    Alas, no, I did not get any pictures.  Bill did but not me.  I was busy being "learned" in Atlanta and unable to get out to take any pictures.

  2. Wahzat

    Oh poor Jiffy, Lubie needs to stay in her cage lol
     
    I don\’t know what happened but I never got your friend request so I have sent off a request to you hope you get it!
     
    I thought the eclipse was pretty cool too! I watched from my porch and wondered how we have evolved as a people that we were able to objectively watch the phenomenon without thinking that the world was surely coming to an end. Definitely pretty cool.
    Have a great weekend.

  3. Jane

    Cute birdie! 
    We had clouds here.
    I have a sudden inexplicable urge to get my oil changed….

  4. Toni

    Shhhhppp! OOO! You just got DOG-WHISPERERED!
    Ahh, the things you can do with twisty-ties…I\’ve got 2 arms back on my glasses thanks to those little babies.
    I LOVE LOVE LOVE the video of the model you have below…refreshing and yet at the same time disturbing. I wanted to ask–what was your retreat about?

  5. Nooner™

     
    RE Birdie snack for Jiffy
     
    Isn\’t that the truth!
    Reminds me of an incident at my house when my stepson was about 10 years old.
    Our family had a cat as a pet, and my stepson in particular had a hamster in his room in an elaborate hamster cage.
    We had been away for a day or two down in New York and were returning home in the car. I made the mistake of "joking" about what we might find when we got home, i.e. our cat having had "a Hamster Burger" while we were away.
    Well, lo and behold, we arrive home to find the cage turned over, evidently by the cat, and the hamster missing. I felt so bad at my attempt at humor earlier that day. An hour or two later we were in daughter\’s room attending to diaper changing when we noticed the hamster scoot out of the closet and across the floor. Whew! We were happy campers that all ended well.
     
    ~Nooner~
     

  6. Aimee

    we had too much clouds here…
    *~* :o) always remember to be happy… :o) because you never know who is falling in love with your smile… :o) *~*

  7. Cindy

    My brother had a couple of sugar gliders that figured out how to open their cage.  I think it took us longer to figure out what they were doing than it did for them to figure out how to open the doors.  Of course, it was easier for them than Lubie … they have little tiny hands.   I will also recommend something indistructable for locking the door.  My sweet Payner used to stand underneath their cage licking his lips.  Yes he did.
     

  8. Lena

     
    Happy day after the lunar eclipse.  I agree with you, it was REALLY COOL.  I watched it from my back porch.  Amazing.
     
    Poor Lubie.  I wouldn\’t trust the twisty tie.  I\’d go with a padlock and key LOL
     
    and re your comment over yonder:
     
    yes Joell, really 😉
     

I always love hearing from you! :-)

