Cake Lovers Anonymous

“Seize the moment.  Remember all those women on the Titanic who waved off the dessert cart.”  ~Erma Bombeck

————-

My name is Joell and I’m a cake-a-holic.

Yeah, that’s right.  I’m having cake for breakfast.  And, man is it good.  Don’t be hatin’, I’m having coffee with it too.

I’m not ashamed.  And for any of my Weight Watcher friends out there, I’m sorry.  I was just needing me some cake.  If y’all have been reading this blog of mine for a little while, you might be aware of my love of cake.  You might remember the “cake ‘n steak” episode from my birthday?  Just don’t come between me and my cake, okay?   

If you think about it, cake is a fairly well-rounded food.  It’s got eggs, milk, grain, glucose (I know, I know, you’re saying “sugar”….sugar, schmugar–we all need some of that too!).  And if you decide to go with a carrot cake, by golly, you’ve got yourself a vegetable too!  Maybe I’m stretching it a bit, but I’ve got to rationalize it somehow!

Particularly delicious is the Funfetti cake mix by the doughboy.  It’s basically yellow cake with some sprinkles pre-mixed into the batter.  And it is extra delicious with some pink vanilla Funfetti frosting on top!!  Yummmmyyyy.  Y’all just have to try it.  We like to call it “celebrate life” cake…

As most of you know, we used to live in Iowa until about six months ago.  Hubby’s sister and her family live there too.  They moved there about two years before we did, for different reasons.  It was a huge blessing to have them there.  If you have been a bit of a nomad, like myself, you understand the gift it is to already know someone, anyone, in your new town.  Multiply that by a jillion and you have the gift it is to have family in your new town…family that you like, that is.  Just kidding.  Seriously, these are wonderful people.  We literally lived about 3 blocks away from hubby’s sister.  It was awesome.  We would get together about once a week, generally on a Friday night, either at our house or theirs, to have dinner and catch up on the latest happenings (they had high-schoolers…life was very interesting).  Not long after we moved to Iowa, we went over to their house to have dinner one evening and I noticed there was CAKE!  Excitedly, I asked, “What are we celebrating?”  Hubby’s sister looked at me, very matter-of-factly, and replied, “We are celebrating life!”  Hey, I’m cool with that!  From then on, the Funfetti cake became known as celebrate life cake.  A name that sticks to this day.  I miss the Iowa dinners with the fam.  My Jacob coined the phrase “Friday Night Family Fun Fiesta” aka “Quadruple F”.  That’s my boy!  It was something we always looked forward to.  Friday nights just aren’t the same without FFFF.  OH well… 

It’s been storming here, all night and early this morning.  It’s the kind of day you really don’t want to get out of bed!  I’ve been enjoying the quiet this morning.  The kids are sleeping in since it’s a school holiday. (Oh, you didn’t know?  Yeah, it’s President’s Day.  Heads up:  You won’t be getting any mail today.  Just in case you were expecting something from Publisher’s Clearing House.) 

I hope that wherever you are, the sun is shining, the snow is melting and there’s plenty of cake. 

Surely there’s some 12-step program out there for me??

ODE TO CAKE by Joell Morris

Cake is good. Cake is fine.  Why can’t I eat it all the time?

I love cake.  Cake loves me. It goes great with black coffee.

Cake for breakfast.  Cake for lunch.  Cake for dinner.  Cake for brunch.

Cake for me.  Cake for you.  When there’s cake, you can’t feel blue.

Carrot, yellow, Funfetti or white.  All are precious in my sight.

Devil’s Food.  Angel Food.  You can’t go wrong.

Equal opportunity, as long as the frosting’s on.

Ice cream, cobbler, pudding, pie?

Who needs you when cake’s nearby?

4 Comments

Filed under Day to Day, Family, Humor, Poetry

4 responses to “Cake Lovers Anonymous

  1. Aimee

    i love cake too…
    *~* :o) always remember to be happy… :o) because you never know who is falling in love with your smile… :o) *~*

  2. barnyardmama

    Man, now I really want some cake. . . let me call and see if my husband is still at the grocery store.
     
    Ok.  No answer.  ANyway, I love having regular events like a dinner.  The hub and I cook on Sunday nights and have people over.  It\’s our hang out time and I love it.  Last night we ended up sitting on the porch.  Fabulous!
     
    KM

  3. Nooner™

     
    Whoops. I didn\’t finish up before hitting the send button. Anyway…
     
    Joell, this is so good that you are fessing up to your cake-a-holic obsession. Confession is good for the soul. I mean, look at me… you don\’t really think that everything I admit to under the auspices of "comedy" is really all made up, do you? There are some truths hidden here and there for personal-therapy sake, don\’t you think? lol
     
    ~Nooner~
    Pillsbury Boy Lookalike
     

  4. Nooner™

     
    Ha!
    This must be Cake Day for me.
    Up until last night, I hadn\’t had any in months. Then last night I came across a box of it we had here, together with icing, and decided to bake it. Mrs. Nooner, who is on the NutriSystem eating plan (and has lost about 40 lbs the past year), was away, so I figured it was the perfect time to endulge in something slightly decadent. After having some last night, I woke this morning, and had it with coffee!!! You\’re right, it\’s a perfect breakfast accompaniment to the java!
    Then, a half hour ago, I\’m at Carol\’s space reading her latest blog and see she is baking a cake today that needs to be finished by 4 p.m.

I always love hearing from you! :-)

