My Funny Valentine

 

 

“I don’t understand why Cupid was chosen to represent Valentine’s Day.  When I think about romance, the last thing on my mind is a short, chubby toddler coming at me with a weapon.”  ~Author Unknown

 

I’m feeling a tad delinquent here. 

But let me get right to it…

Today is my sweet first born’s 13th birthday.  Yes, Jacob was born on Valentine’s Day.  Sweet, isn’t it.  He is my funny valentine!

So, in my house, V-day, per se, doesn’t exist anymore.  It’s just pretty much Jacob’s birthday.  But I love it.  If you’re gonna have a holiday birthday, I think Valentine’s Day is a great one.  I mean, you get sorta gypped if you have a Christmas/near Christmas bday.  July 4th, well, who can compete with the bday of an ENTIRE nation?  New Year’s wouldn’t be too bad.  But it’s still close to Christmas.  And I don’t really think I’d like a Halloween bday.   Leap Year, now that would pretty much stink.  I mean, you’d only get to celebrate your “real” bday every four years!  My mom’s bday sometimes falls on Thanksgiving Day, and that’s pretty cool.  A Valentine birthday rocks, but it’s hard to find a Valentine Birthday card.  I need to give Hallmark a call.  There are never any good ones.  Or ONE I should say, because usually that is all there is.  One measly sad (bad) one.  Usually, I just skip it and get him a Valentine card and a B-day card.  I mean, more is better, right?  So, Happy Birthday to my Jacob.  I can hardly believe we have entered teendom.  It’s pretty mindblowing.  It just keeps getting better and better!  The BIG news is that we are getting Jacob a parakeet for his birthday.  He has NO idea.  He loves birds.  And he’s been asking for one for a long time.  I think I kept hoping it would pass.  But it hasn’t.  His favorite bird is the bald eagle.  He loves raptors and hawks, but they aren’t exactly pet material.  Neither is a bird that lives for like, 75 years (i.e. macaw or cockatoo).  A parakeet is a good place to start.  So, Hubby and I went and picked out a cage and the bare basics and we’ll take Jacob to go pick out the one he wants.  He is going to be out of his mind excited and I am too, because I know how much he’s going to love it.  More to come on that…

My retreat was great.  And Big Red came through for me and took me right through the mountains without a problem.  Unfortunately, my sweet friend/roomie was laid up with a terrible stomach bug pretty much the entire time.  I felt so bad for her.  I tried to resurrect my maternal skills, which I normally leave at home for that particular weekend, and give her some TLC.  I was forcing the fluids on her.  I told her that I really wasn’t wanting to make a trip to the ER.  She was pitiful.  Aside from that, as always,  I enjoyed the teaching and the time alone to just be quiet.  I have to say, though, that I have been scared to death that I would come down with “the bug” too, but so far, I haven’t.  She was pretty religious about washing her hands and I was kinda anal about not getting too close.  We’ll see.  The scenery was amazing there in Montreat, NC.  It always is. There is something about breathing that (seemingly) clean mountain air that is so refreshing.  Can’t wait for next year! 😉

7 Comments

Filed under Jacob

7 responses to “My Funny Valentine

  1. Toni

    OH, how cool! A Valentine birthday boy! Glad you didn\’t name him Romeo or something cliche like that. And I love your new green bird. What was the retreat all about? I guess I\’ve got a lot more reading to catch up on.

  2. Bill

    A parakeet! I bet he will love it.  And since he\’s 13 now, he can teach it to say words that they shouldn\’t say.  THAT will be cool.

  3. Nooner™

     
    Hi Joell,
     
    The photos of your Retreat locale are beautiful. Though sorry about your friend\’s illness, it sounds like you still managed to throughly enjoy the solitudes and ambiances that retreats bring.
     
    How exciting for Jacob about the parakeet gift. I\’ll be looking forward to hearing about the new passanger in the Big Red homestead!
     
    Your mention of his favorite bird, the bald eagle, reminded me of the first and only time I saw an "aerie" while in the outdoors (I mean by witnessing it for real, and not just seeing it on TV). It was actually in your state of SC. I was in awe at how huge those nests turn out to be. A friend of mine from Seabrook Is and I had taken off in a boat from Bohicket Marina and were just cruisning along the creeks and rivers and wetlands areas when we spotted it. Given its size, it was truly amazing to see. But, no bald eagle inhabitant of the aerie was in sight that day.
     
    Anywooo…. hope you had a great Jacob\’s Day!
     
    ~Nooner~
     

  4. barnyardmama

    I think V-day is a great holiday for a birthday.  I like it, but not in a romantic way–I just like the idea of pink/red/hearts/candy.  I don\’t go in for the pressure thing, though.  The Hub and I do something if we feel like it, but no cards or gifts or anything.  I like keeping holidays fun and not about what someone does for me.
     
    KM

  5. Jim

    Happy Belated BDay to Jacob.
     
    From your pictures it looks like a pretty cool place to go and relax and unwind. You got some great pictures.

  6. Cindy

    Oh yeah … wise decision to go with the parakeet … I\’m sure you remember \’Dudley\’ …

  7. Cindy

    Yeah … what you don\’t know is in the air … can\’t hur… uh … hmmm … that doesn\’t quite work … does it?
     
    Valentine\’s day has been a non-holiday for me since the drunken idiot I lived with yelled at me for not reminding him to buy me a gift.  Yeah … kinda brought the whole thing into the light for me.  People shouldn\’t feel forced to buy someone a gift they really don\’t want to buy for them just because it\’s the middle of February.  The same idiot had a birthday on July 2nd and believe me … he had no trouble celebrating that every year with a boating/drinking trip. 
     
    Happy Birthday to Jacob *warbles*
     

I always love hearing from you! :-)

