Rainy Day Randomness

“Let the rain kiss you.  Let the rain beat upon your head with silver liquid drops.  Let the rain sing you a lullaby.”  ~Langston Hughes

——–

It’s raining here today.  Rainy and 60 degrees.  You’ll hear no complaining from me considering it was -24 in Iowa earlier this week.    YIKES!  We desperately still need the rain.

Got the pod on shuffle as I’m typing.  Luther Vandross followed by the Indigo Girls followed by Keith Green followed by Journey followed by the Dixie Chicks followed by Fantasia.  It’s funny.  I love the pod.  I am feeling the need to have an iTrip thingy now so I can have my tunes in the car with me.   Here’s some random information:  Did you know that Journey has a new lead singer? (sniff sniff, Steve Perry is “the man”).  The new lead singer is a Filipino guy named Arnel Pineda formerly of the band called The Zoo. The dude can flat out sing. Here he is on youtube channeling Steve Perry singing Faithfully. Kinda freaky.

Jacob is on Day 4 of his second round of steroids.  He seems better.  The black circles are gone.  Steroids + less homework = less stress = more sleep.  It’s good for everyone.  He looks more like himself.  He has an appointment to see the allergist for testing.  I haven’t told Jacob yet.  Should be interesting.

In other news, it is that time of year again.  What time, you ask?  Time for my annual “mental health retreat”, as I like to call it.  That magical second weekend of February.  And I don’t mean Valentine’s day.  Every year for the past 11 years, I have pilgrimaged to the mountains of NC for a weekend in February.  It’s a women’s retreat and I always go with my sweet friend Kathy and we join about 150 other ladies for a great combo of pajama party/quiet time/teaching/singing/silliness/sharing/refreshing/staying up too late/reflection.  I originally started going when we lived in Winston-Salem, NC while I was attending a women’s Bible study in town and they sponsored this retreat.  I’ve been going ever since.  I find that my spiritual cup is feeling kinda empty around January and I always look forward to my weekend so it gets all filled up again.  I always expect great things!  It never fails that I feel equally exhausted and refreshed when I get back.  Come next Thursday, I’ll be on my way!  Can’t wait! 

But right now, I’m off to fulfill my “one box a day keeps the crazy away” promise!

6 Comments

Filed under Day to Day

6 responses to “Rainy Day Randomness

  1. siobhan

    Wow that retreat sounds like heaven!  I\’m so jealous!!  The kickball sounds like a blast!  It has been too long!!

  2. Cindy

    I need a sun/beach/tropical drinks retreat. 
     
    That\’s not gonna happen.
     

  3. Aimee

    we got snow…and lot\’s of it…
    *~*   :o) if you don’t have a smile to give today…  :o) I will give you one of mine…  :o)   *~*

  4. Nooner™

     
    Hi Joell,
     
    Oh, the retreat sounds so refreshingly nice. Good for you!
    It\’s Groundhog Day as I write this… we\’ve got a good cloud cover today (after a drenching rain yesterday), so I\’m hopeful that this cloud cover extends way southward and that Punxsutawney Phil doesn\’t see his shadow. I\’m ready for Spring!
     
    ~Nooner~
     

  5. Sheila

    JoellOH!!!!!!!! up until two years ago, when school scedules changed, I would take my children (had done it for about 5 years) and some other mothers and their children for a week of skiing on Beech Mountain.  We have a cousin who owns a lovely cabin in Banner Elk. Boy do I miss that so much…Do tell where abouts are you going?  have a wonderful time and catch up when you get back…oh I want to know more about your running too…eventually (smile, no pressure!)hugsSheila

  6. Jim

    Have a fun time in the mountains.  Glad the kiddo is feeling better and things are getting back to normal for everyone.

I always love hearing from you! :-)

