The gift that keeps on giving

“Change always comes bearing gifts.”  ~Price Pritchett

———-

I’d like to say that I have discovered a new “gift that keeps on giving”.  It’s called BRONCHITIS.  We thought Jacob was on the mend, but he has continued with the cough and just being worn out.  We took him back to the doc today and basically he said “Oh, bronchitis can go on for WEEKS and still not be completely resolved.  Here, take some more steroids.”  WHAT?  My poor kid, dark circles under his eyes, sudden hacking jags and sleepless nights. It’s just ain’t fair, y’all.  Oh, how a mama just wants to make her baby all better!  So, it’s down the hatch with the ‘roids, I reckon.

And speaking of my Jacob, can I brag just a minute?  How are you going to stop me, really.  My baby boy, my first born, is about to become, dare I say it?  A teenager.  He celebrates the big 1-3 on Valentine’s Day.  (Yes, it is sweet.  No, we didn’t consider calling him Cupid.)  I am completely blown away by the thought of it.  I think my child may be entering that beautiful phase of adolescence called puberty.  SHHHH!  Don’t say it too loud!  For Pete’s sake!!! 

I mentioned his (divinely inspired) growth spurt in a previous blog the other day.  And I’m noticing some other changes as well.  Let’s just suffice it to say that I have seen some growth in other areas, okay?  Yeah, we’ll just leave it at that.  (He would so totally die if he knew I was writing this, but hey, it’s a mama’s prerogative, right? Shh.)  A sample conversation from a few weeks back:

Me: “Hey Jacob, lemme see your pits.” 

Jacob: “Why?” 

Me: “Just lemme see ‘ em.” 

Jacob: “MOOOOM!!!! Don’t look at my pits.  They’re MY pits!  There’s nothing growing there!!”

Me:  “Well, I think I see something.”

I know it’s wrong, but I can’t help myself.  Watching your child develop acne and armpit hair is oddly fascinating as a mother.  I would SWEAR that I saw some peach fuzz on his upper lip just tonight.  Hey, at least I wasn’t asking him that in pubic, er, I mean, public.  Give me some credit, will ya?  Seriously, though, we’ve had some really interesting conversations lately, and I’m sure they will only get moreso.  Bring it!  I’m ready.

Oh, but I digress, I was going to brag on my boy…I mean for something else besides entering puberty. The kids got their report cards last week and Jacob made the A/B Honor Roll.  I am so proud!!  <Let me ALSO say that Emma made the A Honor Roll and I am EQUALLY proud of her…she is awesome, however she doesn’t have the additional entering teenager-land/armpit hair development thing going on. I’m sure I’ll get to blog about that soon enough!  I already see it coming…like a Mac Truck barreling down I-95!> 

When we moved here to SC, A)Jacob had never been in a Jr High/Middle School situation and B) the kids had never gotten “grades” per se in their previous school experience.  In their school in Iowa, they received end of the year progress reports and we had 2 parent-teacher conferences during the year to find out how they were doing in their studies.  Understandably, I was very concerned with how Jacob would handle this new situation because as most of you know, Jacob has Asperger’s Syndrome.  Asperger’s (AS) is an autism spectrum disorder, one of the characteristics of which is difficulty with transitions.  Change can be very unsettling for him, to say the least, but he has handled this move INCREDIBLY well and I really well up when I think about it.  Don’t get me wrong, it hasn’t been all smooth sailing, but it has gone better than I had dared to imagine.  Thank you, Lord!  With his tendency toward perfectionism, I was concerned about how “getting grades” would go over.  He has gotten some really exceptional grades and a few not so exceptional.  And he has managed to handle that as well.  The good ones have far outweighed the not-so-good ones and that has really had a very positive effect on his self-image, which has needed some work <gross understatement>.  I give a lot of credit to his “shadow”…the one-on-one assistant who is with him throughout the day.  She has really gotten to know him and understand him and that makes things go a lot smoother.  She is a God-send!  But I give more credit to Jacob and the really cool kid he is and how hard he tries to make things work.  He has come so far.  I am both terrified and thrilled to see what’s ahead for him.  Mostly, I’m very hopeful.  But isn’t that true for most mom’s of adolescent sons and daughters? 

I guess bronchitis isn’t the ONLY gift that keeps on giving…

“Each day comes bearing its own gifts.  Untie the ribbons.”  ~Ruth Ann Schabacker

8 Comments

Filed under Jacob, Kids

8 responses to “The gift that keeps on giving

  1. Nooner™

     
    Happy February to you, Joell 🙂
     
    ~Nooner~
     

  2. Sheila

    Hi Joell!
    Welcome to the lovely roller coaster ride of "teendom" (she saids with a sarcastic glazed knowing look!). BTW, why do you think I run so much…I am running from insanity, HA! Now is the time you will realize, they know way so much more than you!…THEY REALLY BELIEVE THIS! I have enjoyed this post (my son is 15, my daughter will be 12 this month…every now and then I have to shake my head to uncross my eyes, lol).but seriously, I know you are so pleased that he has adjusted and is doing so well with the challenges he faces.  I know that type of concern (two years ago my son was diagnosed with Ulcerative Colitus,something he must learn to control for the rest of his life). Have a great rest of your week and hope the Bronchitis runs it\’s course quickly!hugsSheila

  3. Cindy

    What a proud Mommy you are.  Puberty AND school!!  How do they do it?  The whole thing is just a blurr for me.  Sounds like he\’s doing a great job of it.
     

  4. Nooner™

     
    Hello Joell,
     
    I was delighted when I clicked on the AS link to see it was a Wikipedia site! That place has quickly become my favorite online reference location. I just love it I like the detail they go into and the extensive linking options. Sunday mornings I enjoy some time working the Sunday Crossword Puzzle. After I\’ve exhausted it from being able to answer without help, I many times "google" or "Wikipedia" clues to not only get the remaining answers, but to learn from them too by reading up on whatever it might be.
     
    I was interested to read the first few paragraphs there to better understand AS. Your Jacob is the only one I have heard of with AS, but you have been kind to me in comments in the past, so I like to return the online friendship favor by reading whatever you have to write .. and link to .. regarding your child\’s syndrome. (As you may recall, I have a family member with "a syndrome". Down syndrome). One particular thing that I thought interesting to read over at Wikipedia was the writer\’s comment that there has been "a shift in attitudes … towards the view that AS is a difference not a disability". 
     
    Ii think it is interesting how moms can get into the "puberty" talk and all with their boys. As a father of a girl, I felt it necessary to stay away from any mention of female bodily changes from my end. I think I was deathly afraid that, if I did, that my little girl might take it as a male interest, and not as a fatherly concern. But now that she is in her mid-twenties and on her own, I have no qualms about kidding her now about an outfit she\’s wearing or a revealing neckline. We get along famously and life is grand for us.
     
    Lastly, happy to read anything and everything about your bragging rights for your two adorable kids! I\’m happy for you and them that so much good is coming their way. Hopefully the bronchitis will get knocked out sooner rather than later!
     
    ~Nooner~
     

  5. Tiffany

    I\’m sorry to hear about the Bronchitis… everyone has had it around here along with the flu!  YUCK! 
     
    That is awesome that Jacob is doing well with school!  Our nephew (on Britt\’s side) will be 14 this year and we\’ve noticed the puberty changes in the past 6 months or so.  Just his voice getting deeper and different stuff like that.  They just grow up too quick!  I\’m glad that he has transitioned to SC easier than you thought it would be.  My friends daughter has Autism and she is scared about sending her to Kindergarten next year.  But, the special school she is going to right now won\’t take them once they turn 5.  Luckily, the public school she will go to has an awesome Autism program!
     
    Big Hugs to you! 
    Tiffany

  6. Aimee

    ya that one will knock you on your butt for months sometimes…
    *~* :o) if you do not have a smile today… :o) I will give you one of mine… :o) *~*

  7. Jim

    I really dislike Bronshitis.  It is horrble.  I really hope Jacob starts feeling better soon.  Make sure you tell him that your friends ont he Internet say Get Well Fast.
     
    My daughter turns 13 next Thursday.  Tobe honest, I would like for her to stay 12 forever.  A teenager.  You sure seem to be handling that much better than myself.  I hope he has a great birthday.
     
    Oh, and big time congrats on the grades.  To both of the kiddos.  Very important to work hard and getting those grades sure lends some credit to the power of hard work.

I always love hearing from you! :-)

