The Power of Pillows

 

 

“Most men pursue pleasure with such breathless haste that they hurry past it.”  ~Soren Kierkegaard

———–

 

I wish I had taken a picture of all the crap in the back of Big Red just a minute ago.  I have sent the boys on a male bonding trip to the DUMP.  Woohoo.  The whole back of the van was full!  Had to fold down the middle seats to get it all in there.  Scary.  That’s right, I’m filling the landfill. 

It is great to be getting rid of some clutter.  There is now a walkable path in the garage.  I was starting to worry that someone might hurt themselves while trying to get their bike or roller blades out of there.  It’s like those pictures you see of a person with one hand shoving all the contents of the closet in the closet while the other hand closes the door.  Then when you open the door everything comes tumbling out on your head.  That’s how I felt when I looked in there (or when I looked in most places in my home, for that matter)…like something baaaad was about to happen.  It’s the old, unscrew-the-jar-and-the-crazy-squiggly-thing-comes-springing-out-at-your-face-and-scares-the-fool-out-of-you, gag.  It’s definitely a work in progress. 

I am excited about my new bedding!  I love it!  My friend Lisa helped me pick it out last week. ——> 

My walls are sort of green and my bathroom is blue and so I wanted something that would incorporate both colors.  We found these really cool pillows (the three matching ones) at TJMaxx (aka “TJ’s”).  And we used those to find the duvet cover and bedskirt.  Then I came upon the center pillow at Pier 1…on the clearance table, no less!  Score!  I love when I get a bargain!!  We got the curtains at Lowe’s.  That’s right, Lowe’s, your friendly neighborhood home improvement store.  And it all looks really great together.  It makes me feel happy when I stand in the doorway.  I am excited to get the rest of the bedroom clutter (which, because of the strategically taken photo, you are unable to see ) cleared out so I can really make it pretty.  I want it to be a place where Hubby and I can feel calm, peaceful, relaxed, not overwhelmed by the clutter.  Hubby was happy with the ensemble because it wasn’t too girly.  It’s pretty without being too “foofy”.  So, yay, everyone’s happy.  I’m hoping to get back in there this afternoon and work at it some more while the spirit is moving me, so to speak. 

I’m also needing to get in Emma’s room and sort through her clothes.  She’s in a major growth spurt right now and there are so many things in her drawers right now that don’t fit her.  It’s so bad that when all her clothes are clean, she can’t get them in her chest of drawers!  Does this happen to anyone else?  So that’s another project on the horizon. I’m trying to be on the “one box a day” plan and hopefully I’ll be unpacked by the end of 2008.  

I’ve noticed that some of Jacob’s pants are looking a bit highwater-ish lately too.  I think God is finally answering my prayer.  Seriously.  I’ve been praying for a growth spurt.  He’ll be 13 in less than a month and he weighs about 76 lbs and he’s about 4′ 9″.  Bless his heart.  I never say anything to him about it, but he is always saying, “I’m short” and I’m doing the thing that moms do and I am always saying, “No you aren’t.  You are just fine and one thing I can promise you–you WILL grow.”  And, you know what?  I think he is!  <inner happy dance> Truth is, it just isn’t in his DNA to be a 6′ 9″ center on the basketball team, or anywhere else, for that matter!  Just not gonna happen.  I’ve tried to explain this to him.  Hubby is about 5′ 8″ or so.  I’m about 5″ 7 1/2″ or thereabouts.  No one on either side of our families is extraordinarily tall.  Bada-Bing!  You’re gonna be an average size dude.  So far, he’s not really going for it.  Unfortunately, I’m afraid he’s reaching the age where all of a sudden, maybe mom DOESN’T know everything.  Oy.  I’m not ready for this.

So here I go…SuperMom, master of clutter and pre-teens everywhere!  Off to defeat another villain…this time, the evil lurks somewhere in her closet.  Will she be able to contain the monster?  Or will she be crushed under its sheer weight?  Tune in next time to see.  Up, up and awaaaaaaaaay.

7 Comments

Filed under Day to Day

7 responses to “The Power of Pillows

  1. Lena

     
    I love your bedding too!  Great color combination.  I\’ve had that issue with my husband.  It\’s hard to find bedding that\’s not feminine with flowers, and ivy and stuff or masculine with paisley, tan and black blocks, etc.  I have found Calvin Klein has great combos and it\’s chic, urban, and non gender specific.  Love me some CK bedding.
     
    I am waving my clutter-be-gone wand.  Hopefully it won\’t take til the end of \’08.  Geesh.
     

  2. Toni

    First, I LOVE that polka-dotted pillow! And second, I LOVE TJMaxx. Okay, moving on. Cheyenne is already outgrowing stuff she got at Christmas. Her shoes are to big for ME. It must be that age–sigh…they grow up so fast. Tear. Have fun with your pre-spring cleaning.

  3. Aimee

    love the new bedding…similar to mine…except where you have brown i think i have black…
    *~* :o) if you do not have a smile today… :o) I will give you one of mine… :o) *~*

  4. Zhu

     wow …. I\’m exciting to reading your blog . I wish you do getting a nice sleeping with your nice bed .

  5. Nooner™

     
    Hello Joell,
     
    Reading yet another blog of yours is so damn enjoyable. You have a great story-tell way about you!
    Here is a Male-Female-differences I just enjoyed smiling about when seeing them in combination in one blog:
     
    "I have sent the boys on a male bonding trip to the DUMP"
    and
    "I am excited about my new bedding!"
     
    HaHaHa. Boys and their enjoyment rumaging through a dump … and Girls and their enjoyment with decorative items for the house"
     
    Guess who resembles the remark: "Most men pursue pleasure with such breathless haste that they hurry past it."? Me!! lol.
     
    Hey, the primaries were in your state for the democrats yesterday. Pretty darn interesting! History making results for both first and second place. We here in Connecticut get to add our voices to the fray on Feb 5.
     
    ~Nooner~
     

  6. Jim

    Glad your husband does not have to live with paisley sheets.  My wife does that to me sometimes.  Drives me completely bonkers.  I am pretty sure she does it on purpose.

  7. Sarah

    I like the ensemble!  When I first read the "Power of Pillows" title, I thought… Who is she trying to smother?(Haha)

I always love hearing from you! :-)

