It’s been such a long time.

“It’s been such a long time, I think I should be goin’, yeah

And time doesn’t wait for me, it keeps on rollin’

Sail on, on a distant highway

I’ve got to keep on chasin’ a dream, I’ve gotta be on my way

Wish there was something I could say…” ~ Lyrics from “Long Time” by Boston.

This song came to mind today.  I was thinking, “oh man, I haven’t blogged since before Christmas and I haven’t posted any pics”…And my LCD just took over. 

“It’s been such a looooong tiiiiime…” I just burst into song. I was like…I’ve gotta get bloggin!

First things first though. HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYBODY! Hope y’all had a fun safe happy holiday.

Now, second things…

BIG RED

Thank you to all who have expressed your good wishes about her.  She was still having some trouble over the holidays and so my Dad took her to his mechanic and mechanic seems to think he has fixed the “problem”–let’s just say there were some very burnt up spark plugs involved and I believe the words “I can’t believe this thing would crank AT ALL” were involved.  In the meantime, my very generous 87 year old Grandma let me borrow her car until we can head back this weekend and retrieve “my Precious”…think Smeagol/Golem here.  Wringing hands and all.  So, let’s all hope she can hang on a while longer!!

THE CRUD

We’ve all had it.  Emma and I are well.  Hubby and Jacob are still recovering.  Man that stuff is B.A.D.  The HACK just seems to hang on and on.  Hopefully we haven’t infected TOO many family and friends in the wake of our visits!

REUNION

Three words…SO. MUCH. FUN.  And if you are one of my classmates and you are reading this and you didn’t have as much fun as I did, I am so sorry. 

It is so fun to see folks you haven’t seen in for.ever.  It’s weird, though.  Suddenly, you revert back to your high school self.  My hubby was not able to come with me and that was too bad because he is my (reluctant) dance partner.  I always drag his booty onto the dance floor and make him shake a leg.  Did I mention I love to dance?  I think he actually likes it more than he lets on, but whatever.  Thanks to all the nice ladies who shared their (hot) hubbys/men with me so I didn’t have to be the crazy girl dancing alone…but I would have done it.  That’s right.  In fact, Kristi and I had the ENTIRE dance floor to ourselves when Mr. DJ (aka Maurice) played some random Madonna for us. (NOTE:  Kristi is/was an insano Madonna fan!)  It was the 80s for Pete’s sake…you can’t play 80s music and NOT play “Holiday”, okay??

FAMILY HOLIDAYS

We had a wonderful Christmas.  Such fun visits with all of our family and friends.  It’s such a blessing to be so close to them now and the kids and I commented on our short 5 hour drive to my mother-in-law’s house that we were VERY thankful that we did NOT have to fly home this year for the holidays!!

Here’s a visual…My Emma’s “Hannah Montana” wig on my 41 year old (newly bald) brother.  I’m sorry, John (and I warned you that it was going up on the blog!).  But it WAS the pic of the holidays.  I thought I would wet my pants.  As did we all.  Well, except for Jacob. The laughter got a little too rowdy for him and he decided to leave the room. John was so hilarious, though.  He sported the wig, and posed with a guitar.  He was totally rockin’ the hair.  Someone (I think my 9 year old niece, Victoria) mentioned Bucky Covington (Rockingham, NC native, formerly of American Idol)…I thought he was more Greg Allman, myself.  So fun and funny.  He has always had a great sense of humor though…Actually, he got funnier when he shaved his head.  I think the hair was sucking his humor away.  And now it’s gone, so there’s nothing between him and the funny.  I love you bro…you crack me up.  Funny and a great sport…a great combination.  Did I mention he’s a pastor?

But wait…I can’t let John suffer alone…there were others who sported the look as well…

(Me and my 3 yr old nephew, Joseph…what a cutie–of course I mean HIM.)

(My dad, AKA “the biggest dork ever”, Emma and my 14 yr old niece Jordan, after they had given him a “make over”…makeup and all. He could be the ugliest woman ever.)

(My Mom who will just die if she finds this is here…but I just can’t help myself.)

Notice it’s just the “adults” wearing the wig??    Hmm, what does this say about us?  Ha. 

We also spent time with my hubby’s folks and enjoyed them too…but I don’t think I almost laughed till I peed there.

ANTM

I must here confess my newfound addiction to America’s Next Top Model.  It’s so sad, isn’t it?  But they have been running an ANTM marathon on VH1 all week of every season to date–1-9.  I have been obsessed, I tell you!  Hubby is saying, “Um, honey…what has happened to you??”  What is so crazy is that I have only ever watched about 4 total episodes up until this week.  Never really paid any attention to it.  But now, by golly, I can watch it 24/7.  I mean, why would I watch anything else??  OY.  (Hubby would not like to admit that he’s watched a few episodes with me.)  That Jade from cycle 6…SCAARRRY.  And crazy.

HAPPY 2008

We rang in the New Year with Dick Clark (bless his heart) and Ryan Secreast…and Miley Cyrus (AKA Hannah Montana) and the Jonas Brothers.  Woohoo.  For me, it just isn’t quite as magical watching the ball drop anymore–100th anniversary or not.  But, FYI, they did go green this year using over 9000 fancy new light bulbs that only used the energy of 10 toasters.  Bet you didn’t know that, now did ya!  As I’ve said before, I do not make this stuff up.  I think it was the first time we let the kids stay up till midnight.  Emma thought she was hot stuff.

We’re back in the school routine full swing.  It’s been a bit of a challenge this week trying to get ourselves back into it though.  Tired kids and tired Mama.  Plus, Hubby has been working like a maniac on a huge project at work and we’ve hardly seen his face all week.  So, I’ll be glad for the ride tomorrow so we can actually catch up…and th-th-th-that’s all folks!

Here’s some more Boston for your listening pleasure…

Rock And Roll Band  and who can forget Peace of Mind  and more lyrics I enjoy from More Than a Feeling:

I looked out this morning and the sun was gone
Turned on some music to start my day
I lost myself in a familiar song
I closed my eyes and I slipped away
Its more than a feeling, when I hear that old song they used to play (more than a feeling)
I begin dreaming (more than a feeling)
till I see marianne walk away
I see my marianne walkin away

15 Comments

Filed under Day to Day, Family, Humor

15 responses to “It’s been such a long time.

  1. Unknown

    Hi,Do you need advertising displays, advertisement screens, LCD digital signage and LCD signages? Please go Here:www.amberdigital.com.hk(Amberdigital).we have explored and developed the international market with professionalism. We have built a widespread marketing network, and set up a capable management team dedicated to provide beyond-expectation services to our customers.
    amberdigital Contact Us
    website:www.amberdigital.com.hk
    alibaba:amberdigital.en.alibaba.com[fbibhachjfhfga]

  2. Unknown

    To the global wow gold the cheapest wow power leveling under the cheapest single-site! -2163116020765

  3. Unknown

    Key words click link to see (wow power leveling) and (wow gold) the discounted prices!

  4. Wahzat

    I am a closet ANTM fan as well!
     
    Don\’t mean to be a nerd, but what is CRUD?
     
     
    Hope you guys are all better now!!
    Will be back to visit now that I have your link somewhere easy to find it LOL
     
    Enjoy the rest of the week and have a great weekend when it comes!

  5. Toni

    "Awaaaaaaaaay……aaaaaaaayyyy…..uhaaahhhhyyyyyyy!" And now I\’m playing air guitar to the rest of your Boston…as I\’ve said before, one of my favorite songs. Glad you\’ve had a great holiday, hope you all get to feeling better, REALLY better…

  6. Zhu

     So…., I wish you have a great future and great way !

  7. Tiffany

    Hey there… welcome back to blogland!  It\’s good to hear that "red" is fixed and coming home soon!  I\’m still heartbroken about trading my van in for my hubby\’s work car.  I HATE driving his truck… it\’s not that bad since I don\’t go anywhere, but dammit I want my van back!  🙂  Everytime I see a Honda van I give him a sad look and tell him how much I miss it!  I will have another one… just not anytime soon.  We need the truck to pull his stupid fishing boat.  UGH…
     
    Big Hugs to you!
    Tiffany

  8. Aimee

    well i honestly think that you mom looks great as a blonde…and yes…if my grandmother knew that she was floating around on the internet…and could still understand what it was…she would freak too…
    *~*   :o) if you don’t have a smile to give today…  :o) I will give you one of mine…  :o)   *~*

  9. Sarah

    Glad to hear your "precious" is doing well. 
    Your family looks like a blast. 

  10. Cindy

    Your dad in the wig? … SCAR-EE … too shades of \’Dressed to Kill\’ for me … Seriously!
     

  11. Bill

    Welcome back…I thought you had disappeared.  You look swell with the wig 😀

I always love hearing from you! :-)

