Keepin’ it old school

“We’re fools whether we dance or not, so we might as well dance.”  ~Japanese Proverb

———

It has been an interesting week around here.  I’ve had sick kids and a sick car.  Yes, Big Red is having some issues.  She does have 120,000 miles on her.  And I fear this could be the beginning of the end.  But I’m holding on.  I just love her so.  Join hands and say a collective prayer for her.  ‘Preciate it.

Thankfully, the kids are feeling better.  Now Hubby and I have also contracted the crud, but we are fighting on, because what else can you do?  Moms don’t have time to be sick.  And HVAC’s have to be installed at Daddy’s work and well, the show just must go on!  In the midst of the collective crud, I’ve been visiting the doctor with Emma, visiting the car doctor, feebly attempting to finish my Christmas shopping, building the gingerbread train with Emma and Co., decorating our “nekked” Christmas tree and sadly neglecting my housekeeping duties.  Whew, yes, if anyone came in my house right now, they would think it had been ransacked by intruders.  Complete ransackery I tell you!  YIKES.  And here I sit at midnight blogging while I should be sleeping.  But I find I cough less if I’m upright, so here I am.

The long awaited weekend has arrived…well, almost.  Drumroll please…It is time for the “official” 20th reunion–NPHS Class of ’87.  I’m excited.  My bff Kristi asked if I could come up with some song suggestions for the DJ.  I love music–y’all are well aware of my LCD (Lyric Compulsive Disorder)–and I love to dance.   I came up with quite a list of tunes.  Mostly R&B stuff from ’83-’87 that I really liked.  Oh how they have made me smile…I emailed them off to the DJ. 

One of my favorite things about high school was going to the dances after the football games on Friday nights.  They were held in the school cafeteria.  Tito the Party Rican would be up there spinning those records.  Good times.  Good times.  There was a song he used to play and all I could remember was “WIKI WIKI WIKI WIKI” was part of the song.  Kristi thought maybe I could find out what the song was.  Well, thanks to the miracle that is the world wide web, I found it.  The song is “Jam On It” by Newcleus.  (I wanted to embed the video, but apparently I can’t. SIGH. Whatever.  Click on the link and view the “pimpest 80s rap video ever”.)  How it does take me back.  We’d be tearing up the cafeteria dance floor.  Back in the day. Yep, yep, yep.

Should be a fun weekend.  The sickness cannot keep me down and it sure can’t stop me from keepin’ it old school

And I’m keepin’ it real too!

Circa 1985.  That’s me sporting the female mullet.  That’s right.  I had a mullet and I’m proud.  It was the 80s after all.  I was stylin’.  And so was my Daddy.

Post reunion ramblings next week…

Merry Christmas to all and to all a good night!

8 Comments

Filed under Back in the Day, Big Red, Humor, Music

8 responses to “Keepin’ it old school

  1. Unknown

    Hi,Do you need advertising displays, digital signages, advertising player and LCD displays? Please go Here:www.amberdigital.com.hk(Amberdigital).we have explored and developed the international market with professionalism. We have built a widespread marketing network, and set up a capable management team dedicated to provide beyond-expectation services to our customers.
    amberdigital Contact Us
    website:www.amberdigital.com.hk
    alibaba:amberdigital.en.alibaba.com[fbhjhjcbifcjha]

  2. vivi

    All the best in 2008 Cheers 🙂

  3. Lena

     
    Merry Christmas Joell!
     
    Building gingerbread things during the holidays is one of my favorite things to do. 
     
    RULE #1:  DO NOT LICK THE WINDOWS!
    RULE #2:  DO NOT EAT THE PASTE! 
     
    I am cited for violations every year :S
     
    Enjoy the holidays, and hope you, your hubby, kids, and the van are all feeling better soon!
     

  4. Nooner™

     
    Oh Joell, I\’m heartsick to hear the red van has 120M on her… (him?)…. Damn! I was hoping you would keep it cause it is so recognizable. I was going to be on the lookout for it whilst driving on your roads on my late winter trip to Seabrook Island. HaHaHa.
     
    OMG, you had me in hysterics for a solid hour today on your comment. I\’ll have to tell you later why it was so so so funny for me that I laughed that long. Hope you have a great time at the reunion. God, dancing at those things is so much fun. I hope you are feeling OK during most of it and have the most wonderful time!!!
     
    ~Nooner~
     

  5. Cindy

    That video is hysterical.  Those outfits!!
     
    Wiki … Wiki … Wiki!!
     
    Keep on Jammin\’!
     

  6. Toni

    You know, I meant to comment on your last blog but I messaged you instead. I wondered why it looked different as I typed it in.
    I love 80\’s music–and I was little then so it\’s not like it takes me back or anything…I just like it. Weird?
    I\’m praying for your van. What\’s going to happen if it goes? You\’d have to stick with another red van. Otherwise things just wouldn\’t be right. ~Toni

  7. Aimee

    here is hoping that you guys amke it through the crud very soon…
    *~* :o) before you put on a frown… :o) make sure there are no smiles available… :o) *~*

  8. Jim

    Sorry to hear everyone is sick.  Including the Van.  I hope everyone gets better soon.

I always love hearing from you! :-)

