Zoey 101…and a half

 

 

“Before I got married I had six theories about bringing up children; now I have six children, and no theories.”  ~John Wilmot

 

First, Vanessa Hudgens, of High School Musical fame, has nudie pictures of herself floating around the internet.  Now this.

SIGH.

Jamie Lynn Spears, the 16-year-old sister of the trainwreck also known as Britney Spears, has announced that she is 3 months pregnant.  Just what the Spears family needs…more tabloid fodder.

When she isn’t accomanying her sister on some shopping trip and telling the paparazzi to “____ off”, Jamie Lynn stars in the Nickelodeon (kids’ network) show (which my daughter watches) called “Zoey 101” about a group of high school kids.

Now I’m not passing judgment on the kid, I’m just wondering, how do I explain this one to my 9-year-old daughter?  I wasn’t quite ready to have the sex talk just yet.  I mean, we have only in the last 2 months had peripheral discussions about “Aunt Flow”…OY VEY.

I’m thinking that pretending Emma doesn’t know or won’t find out about this is the wrong way to go. 

Welcome to the wonderful world of parenting tweens.

 

 

8 Comments

Filed under Parenting, Rants

8 responses to “Zoey 101…and a half

  1. Nooner™

     
    Ummm, that Amanda & the Gang is a cutie ..
    Oh, slap me .. where was I .. lol
     
    Joell Kid? All kidding aside: Here\’s hoping you have a wonderful first Christmas in SC!!
    Ya know? I followed your blog this year from your move from Iowa. I was amazed at how you moved .. and adapted .. so damn well. It has been an absolute pleasure to have "met you" via this Internet venue. I\’m so glad we continue to visit one another every so often, and enjoy what we see and read and think. Here\’s wishing you .. and all of yours …  a wonderful Christmas!
     
    Your friend,
    ~Noonie~
     

  2. Amanda & the Gang

    LOL….I just love the way everybody critiizes someone they don\’t know at all….aside from the tabloids and paparazzi exploitation and slander.  Yes being 16 and pregnant isn\’t the greatest of things to happen, but you know what, it happens to people every day….normal and un-famous people.  As for Brittney, what she does with her life is her business, and half the nonsense you hear and read about her isn\’t true.  Teenage pregnancy seems to be happening more and more these days, which is really unnecessary in the means of sexual education and knowing better, however it will continue to happen.  So educatiung your daughter about it earlier then you would like to might be a good thing.  My oldest daughter is 7 and she already knows where babies come from…due to a teenage pregnancy in our family and me having three children….I guess the curiosity got the best of her, and she just asked????
    Anyway, I think that whatever you do as a parent will be the best decision for both of you…however, please don\’t shun the Spears family.  I hate people feeding into all of the hub bub rubbish from Hollywood!

  3. Nooner™

     
    Oh, I just love the quotation leading off this blog!!!!
    Happy Holiday Season, Joell 🙂
     
    ~Nooner~
     

  4. Aimee

    well you might as well explain before she hears ti from the wrong person right??
    *~* :o) before you put on a frown… :o) make sure there are no smiles available… :o) *~*

  5. Jim

    As a father of a 12 year old, I feel for your husband.  Far to often I just don\’t understand. MOst of the time, I just listen and be honest with her when she asks.  If I see something that needs to be discussed, I talk with her.  SOmetimes she listens and other times she says, can\’t mom talk to me about this.  🙂  Either way, I just make sure I am there for her.
     
    That being said, I really feel for your husband.   

  6. Cindy

    I hate all that celebrity \’news\’ crap.  I love movies and TV but I don\’t want to know how much they weigh, who they are sleeping with or what rehab they are in this week.  I could not care less. 
     
    Now pass the popcorn …
     
     

  7. Bill

    AUNT FLO???!!?!?!  ugh!The day I got married, I told my wife I didnt ever want to hear anything about her reproductive system AT ALL.  She disregarded my command too.  Gross!I\’m sure Jaimie Lynn Spears\’s mom and dad are so proud..they have Train Wreck and Junior Train Wreck.  You can\’t hide classy.

I always love hearing from you! :-)

