I’m Dreaming of a Green Christmas

 

 

“A lot of people like snow.  I find it to be an unnecessary freezing of water.”  ~Carl Reiner

———-

I basically lead a pretty boring (wonderful) life.  Hence, I really haven’t had anything exciting to blog this week.  But here’s what’s been happening!

The biggest news around here is the weather.  Folks, it’s been over 75 degrees all this week.  It’s hit 80 even.  Now, I’m not complaining.  I mean, I’m totally okay with having a green Christmas.  But, after four years in the Midwest, it just seems kinda weird–wrong even, to have 80 degree temps in December.  My kids haven’t needed to wear their “big” coats (READ: Iowa coats)…in fact, I’m really not even certain where they are.  Nope, don’t even know where any gloves or hats are either.  There are quite a few pairs of snow boots sitting in the garage collecting dust.  And there is a giganto wardrobe box which is labeled “snowboards/sleds.”  I should have donated all that stuff to our neighbors or to “Goodwill before we moved, but somehow I just wasn’t thinking about that…it was August, after all.  My sweet Iowa friend, Diana, said to me a couple of weeks ago, “I bet you’re still wearing your flip flops” and I said, “Nah, I’ve put them away.”  ‘Cause it was, well, “coolish” outside.  WELL, let me just tell you, I DO love my flip flops, but I do retire them in the winter, and I had prepared myself to not see them until the weather warmed up again.  Well, guess what…the weather warmed up again and I have been wearing my croc flops all week.  I just love ’em.  My pedicure needs a little help but, I’ve got those babies on.  I hate to break the news to Diana who is currently bearing the brunt of a pretty nasty Iowa winter.  Sorry, girlfriend. 

The other big news is that today, December 14th, is my sweetie’s birthday. 

He is my old man–42 today.  Back in the day, when I was 13 and he was 17, well, he was robbing the cradle.  Now that I’m 38 and he’s 42, it’s almost an invisible gap.  Funny how age differences sort of grow together as you get older.  So, he’ll be having his favorite supper, spaghetti.  I’ll be making some scrumptious cake.  (Thanks, Pillsbury Dough Boy.)  And we’ll have presents.  The kids and I went shopping after school the other day and they picked out cards and helped pick out some gifts. Should be a nice low-key Friday night.  But I’ll be keeping the fire extinguisher handy!

(I’d also like to give a birthday shout out to my sweet friend Lisa who shares her day with my hubby. Hope it’s a happy one, girl.)

We are counting down to Christmas now. It’s always a very busy time, not only due to the nature of preparing for Christmas, but all the extra stuff the kids have at school.  There are the parties, concerts, end of semester projects, etc.  Emma had a field trip this week to a local plantation.  They are learning about the Revolutionary War and so this was their “educational field trip.”  Emma has also had a chorus concert which was adorable.  I am loving the non-PC-ness of the South right now…as it relates to Christmas.  In Iowa City, the kids didn’t talk about Christmas, Santa, much less Jesus at school.  There was no Christmas decor.  It was “winter” break and they could have a “winter” party at school with “winter” related themes, aka snowmen.  Here, those chorus kids were sporting their Santa hats or reindeer antlers and singing about baby Jesus and shepherds in the school building!  SHOCK. All the while, there is a Christmas tree in the foyer of the school.  WHAT??  They have also put a minora on a table beside the tree as well, but we are actually recognizing Christmas??   In addition, they say the pledge of allegiance every day and have a moment of silence.  What is the world coming to? It blows my mind.  And I love it.  Jacob has his band concert next week.  He’s in his third year of French horn.  His concerts with his band in Iowa were always terrific.  Can’t wait to hear him with his new band.  One of their selections is Holly Jolly Christmas!  Woohoo.

Every December, the kids always enjoy the advent calendars where we mark off each day leading up to Christmas.  We especially love one that my sister-in-law, Amy, made for me about 7 or 8 years ago.  I was going to try to describe it, but took a picture instead…

 It has cute little “shrinky dink” pins you attach to each day.  Each pin comes in its own box and written in the top of each box is a scripture that relates to the Christmas story in some way.  It’s very cool and my kids have enjoyed it year after year.  I love little Christmas traditions. 

 

 

 

 

 

We also decorate gingerbread houses every year.  Now, don’t be thinking I’m some Betty Crocker.  I’ve already told you I’m making my hubby’s birthday cake out of a box…as I do ALL the birthday cakes that I make!  But you can get these great kits with everything already in them…pre-baked gingerbread, icing, candies.  So it’s fun and easy and the kids get a big kick out of it every year.  We made ours yesterday.  Emma had a friend over so she helped Emma with hers…

Aren’t they so cute?  Yes, yes they are.

So, I’m off the wrap a few presents, both birthday and Christmas.  Do some laundry and pay some bills and maybe do a little more Christmas shopping.  I still have nothing for my sweet mother-in-law.  SIGH. 

You are officially caught up on my boring (wonderful) life.

 

6 Comments

Filed under Day to Day, Kids

6 responses to “I’m Dreaming of a Green Christmas

  1. CAROL

    HOP on over to my place if you want to see SNOW.. I iwsh you were here to help me get rid of it on my long long driveway. The drifts are HUGE.. UGH. Doesn\’t sound so boring to me .. it looks and sounds wonderful!! I would LOVE YOUR 75,, but that\’s just ME!!  Take care and have a great holdiay!! Merry Christmas to you and yours..and happy birthday to your HUBBY!!

  2. Jim

    Tell your husband we all said Happy B-Day.
     
    Looks like everyone did an excellent job with the Gingerbread Houses.  We tried that once.  It did not turn out so good.  The house was destroyed, the dog ended up frosted and the candies were everywhere.  But, I suppose that is to be expected.  That is just how things turn out in our house.  Glad things went better for you.  Sounds like your in full on Christmas mode. 
     
     

  3. Cindy

    Just rub it in why don\’t ya … 75 to 80\’s  (it\’s 26 degrees here today) …
     

  4. Aimee

    ok…i should really decorate the house soon…
    *~* :o) before you put on a frown… :o) make sure there are no smiles available… :o) *~*

  5. Bill

    I love the gingerbread house pic with Jacob, what a great looking bunch of kids!  I\’m in Charlotte, and I have been enjoying the weather, but I want it to snow at least once each year.  And it shouldnt be 80 in December.  60 during the day, 40 at night, that\’s fine, but not 80.My wife is 36, and I just turned 42.  I robbed the cradle even MORE, than your husband, but I didn\’t meet my wife until I was 30 :-D.  Whenever I say something about someone I knew in High School, or something like that, she loves to say stuff like "oh yea, when I was 11". 

  6. Toni

    I can\’t get over how good Emma\’s hair looks short.
    I\’ll trade with you anyday as far as that 80 degree weather goes; I\’m still a Florida girl so the midwest winters are KILLING ME! Hope you are enjoying these crazy weeks before Christmas. Toni

I always love hearing from you! :-)

