As for the lack-o-blog…

 

 

SICK KID = NO BLOG

Emma has just been hacking like there is no tomorrow.  I’ve told her she needs to cut back to two packs a day…

   

This is my child who vehemently detests taking medicine.  I mean it is a NIGHTMARE trying to get that kid to take some simple cough medicine.  Granted, it’s nasty.  And no matter HOW they try to disguise it (melt away tablets, melt away strips, “new” and “improved” flavors)…well, nasty medicine in a disguise is still nasty medicine.  I can’t blame her for hating it, but the nasty only lasts for a moment and then you get a few hours of peace.  Can’t convince her of that though. No way.  So out comes the Vick’s Vap-O-Rub, slathered on the neck and chest.  Out comes the warm steam humidifier (with the Vick’s stuff in the water).  Maybe it helps, maybe it doesn’t.  But it doesn’t hurt.  Smells bad, but doesn’t hurt.

SIDEBAR:  As I type this, I’m overhearing the kids talking.  Rudolph is coming on tv tonight and they are making hot chocolate in preparation for the festivities.  As they are putting their mini-marshmallows on their hot chocolate, Emma is hacking.  Jacob says to Emma in an Aussie accent, “Hack on your own marshmallows, mate.”

 Thought y’all would get a kick out of that. 

It’s so bizarre.  She has no other symptoms really, except for the sore stomach and raw throat that accompany a week’s worth of violent hacking.  I don’t mean to be gross, but whose kids haven’t hacked till they puked at one time or another?!  Lovely. 

Anyway, so we’ve been up nights and home from school the last two days.  Just a-hackin’ away.  It’s one of those things where she’s not really well enough to go to school but not sick enough to stay in bed all day at home either.  SO, she has learned to crochet in the last two days.  (Her grandma got her a little kit and she has crocheted herself a chain about a mile long!  LOL.  Doesn’t quite work as a jump rope, though.  Take my word for it…we tried.)  And we also “assembly-lined” our Christmas cards.  So they are all done! YAY.  AND they are adorable I must say.  She also elfed us.  And has watched plenty of the “good” cartoons.  You know the ones like Huckleberry Hound and Tom And Jerry and Underdog and Scooby Doo and Pink Panther and, well, I do believe I make my point.  If anyone gets that Boomerang Channel on cable, you TOO can watch good cartoons. Ahh the good ole days.  Hopefully, we’ll all get a good night’s rest tonight and be back in the saddle tomorrow.

But roight now, mate, I gotta go get me some o’ those mini-marshmallows. Rudolph’s waiting.

9 Comments

Filed under Emma, Humor

9 responses to “As for the lack-o-blog…

  1. Cindy

    \’Hack on your marshmallows, Mate!\’  too, too funny!!
     

  2. Beth

    I space hopped over from Bill\’s space to find out how in the world you could pass the flu via the internet.  LOL
    I see by your profile that you are into autisim awareness.  I have a niece who is autistic and I also am very interested.

  3. Unknown

    Speaking of Iowa, I\’m there for Christmas…my husband is from there.  (I hate driving across Nebraska.)Love the pics…they came out great and yes they were great sports!Mercy

  4. Tiffany

    Hey…I just heard something today.  Don\’t just rub the Vicks on the chest and neck.  At night rub it on the BOTTOM of her feet.  People swear by it and say you will not cough all night.
     
    I have been giving Baylee some Mucinex with cough suppressant and that seems to work really good too!  I just took Baylee to the Dr today because she is running a fever of 103.  They just said it\’s viral!  It\’s frustrating!
    Hugs – Tiffany

  5. Toni

    Poor thing! Have the other ones come down with it yet? My own children would rather die than take medicine. Come to think of it, so would I…I don\’t set a very good example. I hope Emma gets healthy soon so she doesn\’t miss any Christmas parties.

  6. Aimee

    i watched that special too…was much better when you were a kid…
    *~* :o) before you put on a frown… :o) make sure there are no smiles available… :o) *~*

  7. barnyardmama

    Kids are too funny!   I\’m sorry the little one is sick.  I sure hope she feels better.  Have you tried having her drink theraflu?  It sure helped me with the red throat from coughing.
     
    KM

  8. Bill

    I bet she got sick because she cut all of her hair off….and the wind blew on her neck.  That causes colds.

  9. Jim

    It is tough being sick like that.  I hope she gets a good nights sleep and wakes up feeling much better tomorrow. 

I always love hearing from you! :-)

