“Rapunzel, Rapunzel, let down your hair.”

“A fine head of hair adds beauty to a good face, and terror to an ugly one.”  ~Lycurgus

———-

It’s been a long time in coming.  I’m thinking almost a year?  That was when Emma decided she wanted to donate her hair to Locks of Love. Maybe you are familiar with this organization which helps disadvantaged children who are dealing with medical hair loss.  You can cut your hair, send it to them and they will create hairpieces/wigs for kids who need them.  Emma has great hair.  And she has been a great sport.  She has “suffered” for a good cause.  The neverending hair brushing and hair fixing and hair washing.  OY, and let’s not forget the LICE extravaganza! (See April 26, May 10 and May 14 in the blog vault for the lice saga.) Morning crazy hair…wish I had a picture to insert here.  But anyway, it seems like it has taken for. ever. to get to this point.

For two weeks, Emma has been asking me, “Mommy, when can I cut my hair??”  Well, actually, it’s been more like two months that she’s been asking me that, but my answer had always been, “when you have a 10-inch ponytail”, because that is what LOL says on the website that you have to have in order to donate.  Her hair has been long enough for a little while, so my reply lately has been, “after we take the annual Christmas card photo.”  Truth be told, I love brushing and fixing Emma’s hair.  She has great hair.  I think I was probably reliving my whole childhood of wishing I had had hair like hers.  My mom made me wear my hair short…in the dreaded “pixie” cut of the 1970s.  Oh the horror!  *shiver*  (Again, wish I had a picture to insert here because it was a SIGHT!  But suffice it to say that there were times that I was thought to be my parents’ third son, “Joel”. I have two brothers.  SIGH.  I am scarred.  But I digress, and that’s blog fodder for another day…)  So, I was probably dragging my feet because I knew there would be no more fixing hair really, at least for a while.  But, bless her heart, she had been been such a trooper through the whole hair growing process.  It was time.

A couple of weeks ago, I had gone to Great Clips, coupon in hand, to get my $5.99 hair cut.  I used to go to the “foo-foo” salons and pay $40 for a hair cut, but that was 10 years and 2 kids ago…those days are o-v-e-r.  I mean, it was nice and all, but I’m taking my chances at the walk-in places now.  My motto is, “Hair grows back.”  Anyway, I was chatting about stuff with Maggie as she was cutting away.   (Loved her, she was HILARIOUS.)  I mentioned that it was almost time for Emma to cut her locks and donate them.  Maggie said, “well you know, we do LOL haircuts free of charge AND we take care of mailing everything in for you too.  Please bring her here and let me cut her hair.  I’ll give her a really cute bob.”  Get Out!  I loved the haircut Maggie gave me and thought “you’re on, honey!”  So, a couple of nights ago, I spontaneously had the kids throw on something red with the obligatory dorky hats and we had our impromptu photo shoot.  I’m wondering when they are going to start rebelling against the dorky hats.  After the photo shoot, I told Emma, “Tomorrow is the day.”  She was SO excited. 

Off we went, and here is my little Rapunzel before:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And here are the first cuts, with the adorable Maggie:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And here she is after…isn’t she precious??:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Or is she goin’ all gangsta on me???

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Either way, she is a trip!  And she is adorable.  Some lucky kid out there is going to get some great hair.  Grown, and cared for, with a lot of love.

 

16 Comments

Filed under Emma

16 responses to ““Rapunzel, Rapunzel, let down your hair.”

  1. Unknown

    Hi,Do you need advertising displays, digital signages, ad players, advertisement player and LCD advertisings? Please go Here:www.amberdigital.com.hk(Amberdigital).we have explored and developed the international market with professionalism. We have built a widespread marketing network, and set up a capable management team dedicated to provide beyond-expectation services to our customers.
    amberdigital Contact Us
    website:www.amberdigital.com.hk
    alibaba:amberdigital.en.alibaba.com[fbhjiaddhbcgfg]

  2. Unknown

    To the global wow gold the cheapest wow power leveling under the cheapest single-site! -2157450153156

  3. Unknown

    (wow power leveling) And (wow gold) under the single-site, preferential policies!

  4. Zhu

     I think you are a nice hair cut . and i wish you making more money . and making a fancy style for us .

  5. Tiffany

    I LOVE the 3rd and 4th Christmas card pictures.  We took some last night of Baylee in her new Christmas jammies in front of the tree.  They were cute and VERY card worthy.  I don\’t know what I will do this year, but I better hurry up and decide soon!  🙂
     
    Anyway… I will be praying that your hubby gets some time off around Christmas!
     
    This is the first year ever that I haven\’t worked (well, except part-time at the church and I really don\’t count that because next week is our last week working until the middle of January).  So, it will be SO NICE just to enjoy it and not be rushing from here to there trying to "fit" everyone in.  I figured something like this would happen with my family.  It\’s okay and I\’m VERY thankful of having Britt\’s family.  They are wonderful and totally understanding and would LOVE to have us there!  I feel very comfortable at their house.
     
    Have a wonderful week!
    Tiffany

  6. Lena

    Hey Joell!  First thing I saw upon entering your site were your two beautiful children in their Christmas photo shoot.  They are both so photogenic.  Your daughter\’s new do is adorable on her!  And all for a good cause.  Bravo to her and you for caring.
     
    Have a great one!

  7. Toni

    Doesn\’t that haircut make her look older?! It looks so great on her! Cheyenne got hers hacked off back a couple years ago; donated it and all that…but these days it\’s apparently all about the long hair–I love her with easy to take care of, short hair but she\’s just not having it. Ah, well.
     
    Love the Christmas pictures!
     
    And my "new" space: The background is all about the snow–for winter! And Christmas! Not blue for boy! 🙂 We would be so happy with either one–we love the daughters but of course a son would change it up a little–could be cool!
     
    Have a great weekend! Toni

  8. Wahzat

    Your daughter is wonderful!! How amazing of her to donate her hair! Pat on your back too Mommie :)My mother had me with the most hideously short hair styles ever for most of my pre-teen life. I was looking at some pics recently and I have been wondering what I did to her for her to be so mean to me LOL I looked like a boy for sure!Hope you guys have a great weekend! love your blog it is so much fun. Congrats on one year blogging it is good therapy for real.

  9. Aimee

    that is such a beautiful thing for your child to learn…i learn that from a friend of mine with cancer…i shaved my head with her…and even though people had a lot to say about it…i knew that i did it for love!
    *~* :o) before you put on a frown… :o) make sure there are no smiles available… :o) *~*

  10. barnyardmama

    She is a cutie.  That is so awesome that your daughter is so civic-minded.  I have NEVER had that much hair.  Like you, my mom had me in short styles my whole life–she didn\’t like messing with the curls.  Maybe I should grow my hair out for LOL?  Kidding.  I\’d go completely bonkers before I had enough hair.
     
    KM

  11. Cindy

    What a great kid!!  She\’s adorable.  Pinch her cheeks for me.
     

  12. Nooner™

     
    Super adorable!!!!
    OMG, our children (plural: yours, mine, everybodys) are so precious!!!!
    Yours: What a cutie .. What a great cause .. and What a great parent you are!!!
    One day soon I\’ll be posting a blog about my daughter and I. I hope you happen to catch it. It will probably be labeled with something to do with Girl Scouts. I\’m so proud of her .. and our relationship… and I\’m hoping my upcoming blog may help some fathers out there develop an extra-special relationship with their daughters like I did.
    Later, Joell.
     
    ~Nooner~
     

  13. Jim

    I have many friends who did the Locks of Love thing.  Great cause.  You should be proud of her understanding the need and willingness to personally do something to help.  Very admirable quality.

  14. Unknown

    Great blog….my daughter is growing out her hair…oh the tangles when she forgets to brush it @ night.Right on on the "hair grows" comment….I say, "Hair today grown tomorrow!" Har D har har.Mercy

I always love hearing from you! :-)

