Holiday Fabulousness

“Teamwork divides the task and multiplies the success.”  ~Author Unknown

“He who has not Christmas in his heart will never find it under a tree.”  ~Roy L. Smith

We had a great Thanksgiving. 

I have never had the privilege of having my parents and one of my grandmas at MY house for Thanksgiving.  It was such a blast preparing the meal together in my kitchen (new kitchen that I love!!).  The saying “many hands make light work” applies here.  We had everything done in no time and had lots of time to visit.  It was such a treat!  Here we are, four generations: my mom, Emma, me and my grandma (mom’s mom).  Everything went so fast and was SOoooo delicious!  Great fun.  Thanksgiving day (night) we went over to James Island and drove through an awesome Christmas light display.  My 87 year old grandma seemed to really enjoy herself.  Thanksgiving day was also my mom’s birthday, so we celebrated her as well.  Love you Mom!!  Though I must confess I had a tear when I thought about my hubby’s sister and her family who still live in Iowa with whom we have celebrated the last 4 Thanksgivings.  I sure miss having them in my town.  I know they had a great day though, but still…miss ’em!

After my folks left Friday morning, we headed over to my other SIL’s house.  She lives about 3 hours from us here in SC and hubby’s parents had gone there for Thanksgiving.  So, for the first time in 4 years, we were able to see both our families during the Thanksgiving holiday.  It was pretty cool and gave me one more thing to add to my thankful list! 

Today it’s back to school and back to the grind.  I always find it a challenge to “come down” from the family visits.  I usually go into some sort of weird funk post-holiday.  I’m just a little crazy that way.  I’m trying very hard to fend it off this time by staying busy.  Already went to the grocery store this morning and did a couple of loads of laundry.  Planning to do a little cleaning and get the Christmas stuff out of the garage.  (Fortunately it is easily identifiable in the sea of boxes because all the Christmas stuff is in green plastic tubs!)  I’m gonna put on a little Christmas music and just get busy.   

I really love Christmas!!  It is my favorite holiday.  (Thanksgiving is my second fave.)  BUT here’s the challenge…doing all the Christmas things that you love to do, without getting caught up and stressed out and forgetting the real reason we have the holiday in the first place…Keeping the main thing, the main thing, you know?  That is the plan this holiday season.  Usually the first thing I put out at Christmas is the hand carved olive wood nativity that my parents brought me back from Israel several years ago.  I love it.  And it gets my head in the right place.  Who’s with me?  NO Christmas stress!  NO Christmas stress!  Say it with me people…NO Christmas stress!  It can be done.  Let’s do it! 

5 Comments

Filed under Family

5 responses to “Holiday Fabulousness

  1. Toni

    Wow, you had the perfect holiday! I miss the "family" part of Thanksgiving and Christmas; living so far away from everyone can be a bummer if I let it…but we\’ve had some really great times, up here, just the four of us…
     
    It seems like everyone is excited to get their Christmas on already! Can\’t wait to see the pictures of that. Do like I do to avoid the stress–stretch out all the decorating into a week. Take the stuff down on one day, unpack and put up a few things the next, and the day after that, and the day after that…my problem is I have to clean like a madwoman before anything goes out; and then I have to clean again after it\’s all up.
     
    Have fun and don\’t work yourself into a Christmas tizzy. Toni

  2. Aimee

    i love thanksgiving…food and family…what could be better…
    *~* :o) before you put on a frown… :o) make sure there are no smiles available… :o) *~*

  3. Jim

    Even though I put up a big front, I actually do enjoy having everyone over at my house. 
     
    Glad you had a great Thanksgiving with the family.
     
    NO CHRISTMAS STRESS!
    NO CHRISTMAS STRESS!
    NO CHRISTMAS STRESS!
     

  4. Cindy

    Great pic!  Sounds like you had a wonderful Thanksgiving.  I am so happy for you.  My mom\’s birthday was the day before Thanksgiving.  🙂
     

  5. Nooner™

     
    Hi Joell 🙂
     
    Hey, what a great Thanksgiving you had! Nice! Seeing much of the family at the same holiday is wonderful.
     
    I\’m a bit different from you as I happen to favor the Thanksgiving holiday as my fave over all others.
     
    Thanks for the mention of my brother. Yes, that is him with me. Since my Spaces site is mostly comedy and made up things, I\’ll take it down shortly and put the drink glass back up, but I thought I\’d post the recent pic of the two of us given the Thanksgiving holiday to share with close internet friends who stop by and know a bit about the serious me! Like you!
     
    Your pics are always wonderful too! Of course I always love the ones you are actually in .. lol. (Aren\’t boys like me terrible? .. Always interested in the really pretty women .. lol).
     
    ~Nooner~
     

I always love hearing from you! :-)

