Things I’m Thankful For

“We can only be said to be alive in those moments when our hearts are conscious of our treasures.”  ~Thornton Wilder

————–

Here’s stuff you may or may not wish to know about me, but I am writing this on the heels of my recent blog,  A Few of My Favorite Things, at the suggestion of fellow Spacer gord.  I also write it in honor of my second favorite holiday, Thanksgiving, which I think gets a bum wrap.  Mainly because Halloween gets so much hype and now, pretty much before Halloween all the stores start putting out Christmas decorations (It annoys me to no end!).  I mean, what appreciation does poor ol’ Thanksgiving get??  None, I tell you!  Thanksgiving gets TOTALLY dissed, and it just ain’t fair, y’all!  So, Thanksgiving, my friend, this one’s for you!  Enjoy.

What I’m Thankful For:

1. Laughter.  I love to laugh…till my face hurts, till I can’t breathe, till I think I’m going to pee my pants.  (Who’s bringing the Depends??)  I thoroughly love hearing my kids laugh deliriously.  I think it would be fair to say that my children’s laughter is my favorite sound.  I am a firm believer in the saying that “laughter is the best medicine”. I cannot enumerate the times I have said “It’s laugh or cry, and I choose laugh!”  “Laughter is an instant vacation.”  ~Milton Berle

2. My hubby.  He is an amazing man.  A father who loves his kids and would rather spend time with us than do anything else.  A man who loves his wife and kids above all else.  A rare gem indeed.

3. The grace of God.  There but for the grace of God go I. Without Him I am nothing.

4. People who “get” me.  You know who you are.  Thank you for loving the dork that is ME.

5. Days at the beach.  Light breeze.  Beach chair and book.  In the late afternoon sun when most people are leaving to go in to clean up and eat dinner.  Breathing in deep lungfulls of that healing salt air.

6. Cake.  I love cake.  Must have icing, or it isn’t cake.  So I guess I’m thankful for icing too.  ‘Nuff said.

7. Freedom…to speak. to worship. to create. to vote. to love. to live.  I am grateful to have been born in America.

8. Jacob.  My awesome son.  I love who he is.  Funny, brilliant, tender-hearted. He has made me a better mother, a better person and I am in awe of him everyday.

9.People who “get” my son.  As the parent of a child with special needs, this means more to me than cake anything…It’s HUGE.

10. Emma.  My wonderful daughter.  She is an incredible person.  I marvel at her humor, her creativity and her sassiness (don’t tell her I love her sassiness…I don’t want to “encourage” her! lol).

11. Watching my kids….period.  I just sit back and smile when I watch them playing in the ocean, as they sleep, as they interact with other people, watching them do something for the first time, watching them being funny or silly, as they feel successful, or as they love and take care of each other.  Watching with joy the sheer innocence of being a child.

12. My parents.  They are mostly to blame for who I am today! Ha ha.  Two unbelievably cool people who have supported me unquestioningly, loved me unconditionally, and prayed for me constantly.  I couldn’t have asked for better.

13. Seeing a rainbow.  I know it sounds cheesy, but it never gets old to me.  I get so excited when I look up and see a rainbow in the sky.  It always reminds me that God keeps His promises.  I’ve even had the good fortune of seeing a complete double rainbow before.  It was amazing.

14. Books.  Especially the fictional kind which allow the mind to completely dissociate from reality and drift along through a well-written story.  Ahhh, sweet oblivion!

15. Having a sense of smell.  Freshly laundered towels.  Gardenias.  That baby smell (not the poopy one).  Coffee.  Just cut grass.  Ocean breeze.  My hubby’s aftershave.  Fall.

16. Going to my parents or my in-laws for the weekend.  This is something I do NOT take for granted.  Having lived more than 1100 miles away from “my people” at times,  and now being able to decide on a Thursday “HEY, I’ve got a great idea, let’s go to Grandma’s this weekend” is pretty cool.

17. Music.  It pains me to think what life would be like without it.  Physically, pains me.  I suffer from what my girlfriend’s 14 year old daughter has termed “Lyric Compulsive Disorder” (LCD) and it compels me to sing lyrics to whatever songs I may hear on the radio or iPod or that pop in my head completely on their own,  whether I want to or not.  It’s a problem.  You say something, I automatically think of a song and may very well burst out singing.  I just can’t help it.

18. Riding in the car with the windows down.  It’s just fun.  You can’t care what your hair looks like.  And you’ve gotta love all that fresh air!

19. Chick flicks. Beaches, The Color Purple, Spanglish, Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood, Thelma and Louise, Bridget Jones’s Diary, Four Weddings and a Funeral, The Big Chill, Footloose, Pretty In Pink, Sixteen Candles, Dirty Dancing, The Princess Bride, Say Anything, Steel Magnolias, Ghost, Fried Green Tomatoes, Sleepless in Seattle, Waiting to Exhale, My Best Friend’s Wedding, Never Been Kissed, 50 First Dates, The Wedding Planner, My Big Fat Greek Wedding.  I could go on, but won’t.

20. Summers spent at youth camp.  Many summers.  Some of the most amazing experiences of my life were at camp.  Made some good friends.  Good times!

21. The ability to talk.  This dawned on me as I watched a recent episode of Grey’s Anatomy.  Nothing like a little profound Grey’s to make you do some soul searching, eh??  Anyway, a woman who LOVED to talk had cancer of the tongue and the possibility of her losing her ability to talk was great as a result.  I was sitting there thinking, “Oh man! What if I couldn’t talk anymore???!”  Just the thought made me incredibly sad and just a little freaked out.

22. Digital cameras.  Seriously, this was an amazing invention.  I love capturing my babies in all their cuteness!

23. Out of the blue phone calls from people you haven’t talked to in a while.   “I just callllled to saaaay I loooove you” Those pleasant surprises rock!

24. Cooking out on the grill.  The whole experience. Yum.  The smell.  The taste.  Nice weather.  Eating out on the porch.

25. Family dinners.  Be it Christmas, Thanksgiving or Easter.  The chaos. People talking over each other.  The oohs and ahhhs over Grandma’s Sour Cream Pound Cake.  “The kids’ table.”  The eating.  The cleaning up.  The eating again.  It’s all good.

26. Purses, shoes and earrings.  Because their size never has to change, even when YOURS does!

27. Seeing people I haven’t seen in a long time. I just love that.  Nothing like reminiscing with folks from “back in the day”…20th reunion, part 2 coming up soon!

28. Getting mail.  Not bills, magazines or junk, Duh. But personal, handwritten mail.  Addressed to MOI!  Love it.

29. Quotes. I love them.  I collect them.  I learn from them.  They inspire me, encourage me and spur me on.

30. Hugs.  I confess.  I am a hugger.  And like being a hugee.  Just ask my kids.

“Thanksgiving was never meant to be shut up in a single day.”  ~Robert Caspar Lintner

6 Comments

Filed under Favorite Lists

6 responses to “Things I’m Thankful For

  1. Wahzat

    I am right there with you about rainbows and digital cameras. Oh sob my cameras are both destroyed sob. Actually this could be my list except for the grill thingy not a big fan of that.
     
    It was great meeting you… as I said in your guest book i pass by here through Katy\’s space.
     
    Have a great weekend.
    Love the halloween pics. Your son is gorgeous… keep being passionate. it is what\’s needed to make the changes necessary for this disorder.

  2. Toni

    You and I are so similar that it\’s just scary. It would be so bad if we ever got together. I did a short list of my own yesterday, not knowing what the heck you were writing about. But yours is awesome, especially the smelling parts: love that salt water smell. And babies–you\’re a gonner if you ever smell a baby\’s head. Oy. "I just called to say I Love You" is a song I literally have sung on the phone to my mother and my husband numerous times. That or "You are the Sun, You are the Rain"…"whoa…whoa…whoaaaooooaaa." See? I think I\’ve got that LCD thing too!

  3. Aimee

    i am thankful for smiles…
    *~* :o) because you shared your smile… :o) someones day got brighter.. :o) *~*

  4. Nooner™

     
    AWESOME!
    Loved this.
    You are one great kid!
    Being a great fan of movies, I loved the Chick Flicks list.  A few of them I adore too! Must be the little feminine part in me .. HaHa.
     
    ~Nooner~
     

  5. barnyardmama

    Oh my gosh, I have LCD too!!!  I never knew what it was called.  Do you think they have a support group for i????:)
     
    I\’m with you on most of this stuff except the cake–I\’m not an icing fan at all.  Half the time I eat the cake and leave the icing.
     
    KM

  6. Jim

    COFFEE!!!  Most of the other stuff too of course but, COFFEE!!!  I am comfortable enough with myself and who I am to say that I love COFFEE!!! 
     
    Good list.  Maybe I will get Z and L looped in and we will all make a list this year.  Great idea!  Thanks!

I always love hearing from you! :-)

