Getting Fit Fridays {vol. 9 & 10}–My get up and go…

…has gotten up and went.

I know y’all have heard that saying.

It describes where I am, though I guess my get up and go hasn’t entirely gotten up and went. It is just harder to make myself do the things I know I need to do—mostly on the food front. I suppose you could say I am in a bit of a slump.

slow progressAnd before you say, “Hey, it isn’t Friday!” Just let the fact that there was no post last Friday and that this Friday’s post is occurring on Saturday clue you in to the chaos that has been my life the last two weeks and cut a sister a break.

Life has intervened. Prom committee meetings, Military Ball, Eye doctor appointments, Homeschool Co-op prep, Homeschooling, Extra-curriculars, Family visits, Etc. Life events thrown my way which upset my apple cart. This is something I have written about before and am aware is a struggle for me—to stay on track when I start feeling overwhelmed. It is that time of year when things start to go nuts.

Planning becomes difficult. Routines are changed. I feel so exhausted. But if I am truly honest, and I want to be, this whole thing is just hard. And like my friend Cris, when my perfectionism kicks in, I tend to shut down.

Yesterday, as I was driving to the gym for my WERQ class (that I really do enjoy), I was praying, “Lord, I am so tired. Why is this thing so hard?”

I heard that still, small voice say, “Because you want it to be easy.”

Oh really. *insert raised eyebrow here*

Truer words may never have been spoken.

Making good choices in my eating is hard. It takes time and planning. I want to eat what I want to eat. I want it to be quick and easy.

Getting fit takes time. I want it to happen now. I want it to be easy.

Results take hard, consistent work. I don’t like to work hard. I want to give minimum effort and get maximum results.

TRUTH: I am, by nature, a lazy person. I would like things to just happen. I want broccoli and lean proteins to miraculously appear on my plate at dinner time. I want cake to taste terrible so I won’t love it. I want my hips and thighs, okay, my whole body, to be about 6 times smaller than it currently is.

Oh, but wait…didn’t someone once say that nothing ever comes to one, that is worth having, except as a result of hard work? Yep, his name was Booker T. Washington. And didn’t someone else say, the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over and expecting to get a different result? Uh-huh, his name was Albert Einstein. Someone else said that in all toil there is profit, but mere talk tends only to poverty. Yeah, that guy was King Solomon, only, like, the wisest king in Israel’s history. Oh, and he also said, the soul of a sluggard craves and gets nothing, while the soul of the diligent is richly supplied.

SO, while my nature is to be lazy and to want it NOW (think Veruca Salt from Willy Wonka singing “♫…don’t care how, I want it nooooow…♪”), I know that I have to keep on making even the smallest steps in the right direction and just say no to my natural inclination to throw the baby out with the bath water when I feel like I have really messed things up. I have to fight my urge to give up and give in to what I want at the moment.

Progress is slow. And though I have moments when I feel like I want to quit and I am tired and frustrated and I want to eat junk and I feel like there are a thousand other things I “need” to be doing besides working out, I know that slow progress is still progress.

The coming week is just as crazy as the last two. So, what am I going to do? I am going to write down what I eat. All the bites, tastes and licks too! I am going to continue with my workouts and give them more than I have been giving. I am going to ask for help when and where I need it. That may be the hardest thing of all for me. I don’t like to ask for help.

Most of all, I will not give up.

“Striving for success without hard work is like trying to harvest where you haven’t planted” ~David Bly

***********************************************************************

Getting Fit Fridays appears weekly here at Red Van Ramblings to chronicle my fitness journey and more importantly, to increase my accountability. Do you need to get back on the wagon? Do you need some help and encouragement? Join with me, if you’d like. We can do it—together.

3 Comments

Filed under Getting Fit Fridays, Health and wellness

3 responses to “Getting Fit Fridays {vol. 9 & 10}–My get up and go…

  1. Slow progress IS progress. Keep it up! There are weeks I don’t blog, just to progress.

  2. uuugh, I feel every last bit of your frustration. I haven’t even bothered to blog about nutrition the past two Fridays for feeling like a big hypocrite! When i feel overwhelmed my body screams: CARBS and SUGAR and as Veruca Salt says: I WANT IT NOW. Praying for you the next few weeks as our lives step over the crazy thresh hold into the insane lane. Love ya

  3. Love all the quotes. Keep your determination up. I think the hardest thing about the process of getting where you want to be is when the routine changes. If you could just stay home and do it and be done with it and never be interrupted while counting your cheetos, it would be easier right? But that’s not gonna happen right?

I always love hearing from you! :-)

