Getting Fit Fridays {vol. 7}–Food is what? or Hello, McFly!

chasing the ice cream truckYou know how you already know stuff (or think you do), but then you need a BAM! In your FACE! reminder to really drive it home? Yeah, well that is what happened to me this week.

Think Biff in Back to the Future…Knocking on George McFly’s head…I felt like that. “Hellooo? Hellooo? Anybody home? Huh? Think, McFly! Think!”

Last Sunday afternoon, I went and met up with my Biggest Loser Ladies for our workout. We were doing a run/walk for half an hour and then hard core circuit training for an hour. All hosted by our very own Jillian Michaels (AKA Rene). We love her. We don’t love her. No really, we love her.

About an hour and twenty minutes into the workout, I started feeling lightheaded, clammy (I was sweaty already, but this was different), and my hands started to tingle. Then, I thought I was going to puke all over the kettle ball I was flinging around. Yeah, it was kinda scary. I have never felt that way before (let’s clarify: during a workout). I had to sit down, sip some water, and try to let it pass. Then try to get up and walk it off. Then sit back down. Took me about 15 minutes to start feeling better. So weird.

One lady asked me, what did you have for lunch? I told her. Lo-carb wrap with turkey and cheese. And an orange. Then she suggested that I had eaten some good protein, but maybe not enough carbs to give me energy for  the workout. This woman, who was talking to me, is diabetic and so she really has to think about what she is eating and how her body will use the food she eats. It is imperative that she eat the proper foods to keep her blood sugar in check.

Wait, what? *insert rewind noise here*

Hold up just a minute. Food is fuel? 

What a novel concept. (Hello, McFly!!)

“Our food should be our medicine and our medicine should be our food.” ~ Hippocrates

I learned a long time ago that food is NOT my friend. Thank you, Weight Watchers. And I recognize that I have used food as an emotional crutch or to just eat recreationally. (You are not a farm animal, so stop grazing like one! Thanks again, WW.) So, while I recognize that I need to eat mindfully and healthfully, which is great, I had not really been thinking about food as FUEL for my body to use and function properly, as FUEL for my body to use when I am working out or doing laundry or just hanging out with the fam.

Wow. This was a newsflash. Or a “DUH” moment. Whichever.

And truly, feeling the way I did the other day was enough to really make me start thinking more about the foods that I eat—not just to lose weight, but to get the most bang for my buck for my body! I do NOT want to feel like I am about to go bad. Ever. Again.

Yeah, so DULY NOTED!

I have paid more attention to food as fuel this week. Really taking note of what foods are carbs and proteins, etc. I am trying to eat foods that are not just low in calories, but also that I know will sustain me through whatever I need to do that day. And I have felt very good—aside from general soreness from workouts. I have had good workouts this week…well, besides that one. Thanks to the support of the BL Ladies.

Tire and HammerI continue to notice improvements in my balance and how I feel overall. I noticed this week that my pants fit me better. I am seeing some changes in some of the girls I workout with and they are so inspirational. I feel like a broken record, but I could not do this alone!

I have also discovered a really fun dance fitness class called WerQ (think Jazzercise, only, well, jazzier). Lots of fun, lots of cardio, lots of calories burned, lots of great music, oh, and lots of sweat. Check and see if you have this in your area. It is a blast!

Today is the first of the month and that means WEIGH IN time! Since my first weigh-in back in January, I am down 8.6 lbs. I have lost a total of about 4-5 inches (waist/hips/arms/thigh combined). And maybe those numbers aren’t huge, but I can tell that things are changing. And as I continue to work (or WerQ), things can only get better. I call that a SCORE!

What do you eat before a workout? After a workout? How have you SCORED this week?

Getting Fit Fridays appears weekly here at Red Van Ramblings to chronicle my fitness journey and more importantly, to increase my accountability. Do you need to get back on the wagon? Do you need some help and encouragement? Join with me, if you’d like. We can do it—together.

14 Comments

Filed under Getting Fit Fridays, Health and wellness, Lessons

14 responses to “Getting Fit Fridays {vol. 7}–Food is what? or Hello, McFly!

  1. Nicky

    I swung through with the blog hop and I am now following you:) Yes, as someone who has problems with her blood sugar dropping I can assure you that you REALLY do have to watch what you eat. Sometimes it is easier to maintain an even level by eating 5-6 tiny meals throughout the day. Just work with what makes you feel better. Check me out @ http://www.feelingtheemptynest.com when you have time :)

  2. This is so funny. Good Job and congrats to your health development. Go! Go! for your goal!

    Thank you so much for joining the fun at Linkin’ with my Ladies. I followed you via Twitter and Pinterest.
    Have a great day and see you around.

    Judy
    http://www.pursuitoffunctionalhome.com/
    http://www.kusinaniinday.blogspot.com/

  3. Girl you gotta EAT! I am loving the progress you are making and am intrigued by this WerQ thing. Keep it up! And don’t know if this would be up your alley, but as you may know I did the Advocare thing pretty strictly back in July/August and while I’m not doing it anymore, I do still really love their shakes (chocolate mocha) for those mornings when I can’t seem to eat breakfast, or for a mid-morning (or mid-afternoon) mini-meal. Crudtons of vitamins and protein. And their spark is an excellent substitute for coffee or soda when I need a little caffeine. Jitter-free. Love it.

  4. Hey Joell! I have always struggled (for the last 4 years since I started running) with when and what to eat relative to when I will be working out. 1) When I’m not pregnant or nursing, I love to run on an empty stomach. It has to be pretty close to waking up or it needs to be at least three hours after my last meal but not four hours. And sometimes I’ll pop about half a banana or a fuel meant for running (you know – those little gel things runners take for super long runs) if it’s been a long time and I’m about to go work out. 2) When pregnant or nursing, though, I have discovered through a few different incidents like you mentioned that I have got to be really good about fueling myself. So….if this might possibly help you – this is what I’ve settled on :)

    I know certain foods make me feel bloated and full so I try not to have bread before running. I can have a rice cake with peanut butter on it and banana sliced on top and still be okay to run right afterwards. Currently I run when John is home for lunch, and that’s obviously not right after I wake up, and normally it means I’ve nursed twice already. I NEED to eat something, but I want to be able to run when he comes in the door! I’ve switched to having a protein shake right after the first time I nurse each day – and I can drink it over 30-60 minutes while I’m doing dishes or getting the kids’ breakfast or whatever instead of other meals that I never get around to eating because I am doing too much to sit still – and I aim to finish it up about 15-30 minutes before I head out for a run. It’s generally some ice, 1-ish cup of Almond milk, squirt of Agave, cocoa powder, instant decaf coffee, and protein powder. Depending on how much of the other things I’ve put in, it won’t be sweet enough, and then I adjust the sweetness with some Stevia drops instead of adding more Agave. I also change it up a few times a week – – today the shake had coconut in it, as well as 1/2 Tbsp of coconut oil to add fat and calories (Daniel’s been getting me up to nurse at 4-5am the last few days so I need extra calories anywhere I can squeeze them in), and a bit of almond extract. Other days it’ll be orange extract or hazlenut stevia drops, or maybe the peanut butter flavored protein powder. Either way, the shake stays with me, and as long as I don’t drink more that a venti Starbucks tumbler full (sometimes it makes tons because I’ve overfilled the ice and then need more milk, and then I just pour it in another cup – if I’m not working out I’ll drink it all but if I’m going running I’ll stick that in the fridge til after the run) I am good to go for my workout.

    I am glad to hear that you are thinking of food as fuel at this point!! It is!! It’s yummy fuel :) Speaking of fuel….I am off to get some more….need to iron my shirt for my competition in the morning! :)

    • Thank you SO MUCH for all the tips, Coreyanne!! That is so helpful. I have never tried the protein shake route. And maybe that would be a good option for me. But drinking it slowly would be key, I would think, because the last thing you want is shake sloshing around in your belly while trying to run or work out, right?!! :-)

  5. Go girl! That is huge. And if you can feel it in your pants, that’s wonderful! I have to exercise on an empty stomach. That said, I also have to do it first thing within an hour or two of waking up. I used to workout after work, and then it had been like four hours since I had anything to eat. I do know the feeling that you are talking about though. I’ve never quite had it that bad.

  6. I absolutely love that you are running after the ice cream truck. Now that would be my kind of motivation. I can seriously see the bootie shrinking just from the pictures. YOU GO!

    • That was so hilarious! Just as we were about to turn the corner, an ice cream truck turned in front of us–music blaring and everything. My friend Rene said, “Quick! Chase the ice cream truck girls! I’m gonna take a picture!” We were cracking up. I think my booty looks smaller too! ;-) Thanks for noticing.

  7. You’re doing great, Joell. :)

I always love hearing from you! :-)

