Getting Fit Fridays {vol. 6}–One thing at a time.

Nothing says, “Keep doing what you’re doing” like seeing someone you know in the Walmart and having her ask, “How much weight have you lost?”

Am I right?

onethingatatime

I am beginning to see some changes, and at least one other person is too. And, I am not going to lie: It feels good.

The answer to her question, though, is “I don’t know.” Remember, we are only weighing monthly in our Biggest Losers group. It is hard not knowing. But it forces me to really focus on other changes.

It forces me to measure my success in different ways.

  • I am not busting out of my brassiere anymore.
  • I can reach back and grab my toes to pull my lower leg up and stretch my quads without holding on to anything now! Woot!
  • My waist feels smaller to me.
  • My Hubby told me this morning that my behind was smaller. You’d have to know him…he would not care if my hiney was as big as a barn. He is always very supportive in my getting fit endeavors. So his saying my behind was smaller was not saying that it was huge before—just means he noticed. Which is nice. *grin*
  • My endurance is much improved.
  • I can plank for almost a whole minute!

As for the whole eating business, I am making much healthier choices. I am eating much less. I guess the bottom line there is: I am actually thinking about what I am putting in my mouth! I am drinking lots of water and I have cut back drastically on my CRACK, uh, Diet Dr. Pepper intake. Still gotta have my hot tea with a teaspoon of sugar in the morning! And I do confess to a weakness for the fun-size Twix that was in the Valentine’s candy from last week. Oh, how I do love the Twix, y’all! Fortunately, all the Twix are gone from my house now, so I am safe! Shwew!

Progress.

I am making progress. One step at a time. It is hard fought and hard won, but it is happening. It may seem slow or intermittent, but it is happening. And it feels great.

I am getting there. With lots of support and prayer and encouragement, I am getting there. And the longer it takes, the more ingrained the habits become and the longer the results stick.

Action. Progress. Endurance. Results. Rinse. Repeat.

“Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a huge crowd of witnesses to the life of faith, let us strip off every weight that slows us down, especially the sin that so easily trips us up. And let us run with endurance the race God has set before us.” ~Hebrews 12:1 NLT

************************************

Getting Fit Fridays appears weekly here at Red Van Ramblings to chronicle my fitness journey and more importantly, to increase my accountability. Do you need to get back on the wagon? Do you need some help and encouragement? Join with me, if you’d like. We can do it—together.

12 Comments

Filed under Getting Fit Fridays, Health and wellness

12 responses to “Getting Fit Fridays {vol. 6}–One thing at a time.

  1. Fist bump to you! How exciting. I didnt do my weigh in this week because life got in the way but still feeling good and that is what matters. Sometimes the numbers don’t tell the whole story. One step at a time. Keep it up.

  2. Yum…Twix…
    You are getting healthy the smart way. We take years to gain weight, it can’t come off in the blink of an eye if we expect it to stay off. Keep it up!

  3. Hi Joell!
    I wanted to stop by and thank you for linking up with us at the “Linkin with ladies” hop yesterday! I hope you enjoyed reading some new blogs and hope you can join us again next week!
    Thanks again,
    Katie~
    http://dysfunctionsjunction.com

  4. I think numbers are not important on a scale, or at least that is what I try to tell myself. It’s all about how you feel and how your clothes fit! So, you seem like you’re on the right track. I’ve been trying to get the motivation to get into shape … but I am having trouble finding the willpower!

    BTW, thanks for joining our blog hop this week! Great blog you have here.

    • What helps me with my willpower problem is the fact that I have such great supportive ladies who are expecting me to come work out with them. They are counting on me and I count on them in a big way! It makes such a huge difference.

      Thanks for the kind words and thanks so much for stopping by. :-)

  5. Go girl! I love this segment!

  6. I’m doing a happy dance for you now,I know you wish you could see it because it kinda looks like Elaine from Seinfeld. uugh. You go!!! I’m now addicted to Chai tea with a ‘little’ cream.

I always love hearing from you! :-)

