Getting Fit Fridays {vol. 4}–Mouth Breathers Unite!

This week has been tough. I mean, it is hard to really get out there and give all you’ve got to the Couch to 5K when you can’t breathe through your nose. You know, that whole “breathe in through your nose and out through your mouth” business.

Genius tissue dispenser, courtesy of Pinterest.It’s true. This week I have been battling the creeping crud. It hasn’t knocked me completely out, but it has been totally annoying. And inconvenient.

But isn’t there always an easy excuse to find to avoid the workout or to just grab something quick to eat?

Y’all nod your heads. You know it’s true.

Monday I did nothing. Tuesday I manned up, choked down some Day*Quil and went to workout at the park with my girls. Wednesday—nothing. Thursday it was pretty much monsoon-ing here. But thanks to my girl, Cris, who is so awesome and inspiring (and, thanks also, to some more Day*Quil), we met up with some of our other girls and did a Biggest Loser workout video in our friend’s garage. This morning, the skies are clear, but my head is not.

Where does all this mucous come from, y’all?? Good gracious, I have never seen so much! My plan is to choke down some more meds and get out there and do my run today! Even if I have to be a mouth breather—I’ll give it my best.

And then there is the issue of appetite—I just don’t really feel like eating anything much. And I sure haven’t felt like standing at the stove. So, surely I’ve eaten less this week, but it has not always been the best of choices. Thus, my family has not gotten the best choices either. And then I’ve just felt too tired to really be diligent about my food journal. Sigh.

Just being honest here.

This is where the proverbial rubber meets the road.

Pushing through. Pressing on.

When you are feeling sick-y. When life gets crazy. When you feel like you don’t have time for a workout or to prepare something healthier to eat. When some roadblock appears.

I must refuse to be derailed! Or at the very least, get back on the rail ASAP when I see life getting kay-ray-zay.

I am realistic. I know that Life Happens. And I know there are times when my body is telling me I need to rest, and I do. I know there will be days when working out doesn’t happen. Or when I make less than stellar food choices.

But I refuse to make excuses. I refuse to just give up and quit. I can’t. Not this time. I’ve started and stopped too many times before.

Let’s face it, I only have this one body (and it ain’t getting any younger, y’all!). I have a responsibility to get healthy. I owe it to my family—to be here for them, to be an example to my daughter. I owe it to myself, because I am worth taking care of and feeling better physically, emotionally and spiritually. Most of all, I owe it to God. He is the One who created me, after all.

So, what do you do to stay on track when you feel like life is going nuts?

“Never give up on a dream just because of the time it will take to accomplish it. The time will pass anyway. ” – Earl Nightingale

8 Comments

Filed under Getting Fit Fridays, Health and wellness

8 responses to “Getting Fit Fridays {vol. 4}–Mouth Breathers Unite!

  1. “Life Happens” is right! Great perspective and go you for keeping your goals in sight, despite all of it. Also, this picture has me snorting!

  2. Accountability, mainly to my kids and my husband who are around to see what I’m eating and what I’m doing all day. You’re doing great Joell!

  3. Love this post and I can definitely relate to every word! I hope you feel better soon. When life is chaotic for me, I really try to simplify. I usually cut out some of my workouts and don’t feel guilty about it because I know my body needs the break. I also try to focus on not eating too much food. It’s so hard though because it seems like when I feel gross, I crave unhealthy foods! It’s so tough. Hang in there. ;-)

  4. One thing I am practicing to stay on track is repeating the phrase
    “No excuses, no regrets!” to myself. While I am cultivating this attitude in my life, I surround myself with likeminded people, like yourself, who are determined to give it their all. This way, we hold eachother accountable! I can’t wait til May when we get to see the fruit of these changes! So proud to call you friend!

I always love hearing from you! :-)

