Monday Blues?

Monday.

A word that strikes fear into the hearts of many. I won’t lie—it is true for me as well from time to time. Perhaps you are familiar with the dread that starts to creep in on Sunday evenings?

I am trying to take a different spin on Mondays and instead of looking at it from the Mamas and The Papas viewpoint (Monday, Monday…can’t trust that day…), I am trying to view Mondays from a “Yay, it’s a new week, fresh start” perspective.

Mondays

I do so enjoy the freedom of the weekends and hanging out with the fam, but I also enjoy the schedule and routine that the weekdays bring as well.

I had a great time this past weekend dress shopping with my Emma for a gown to wear to the Military Ball. She has been invited by a friend to be his date and she is excited to get all dressed up. I must say, she looked way too grown in some of the dresses she tried on! OY! This mama is not ready for all this grown up business!

I guess I better get used to it.

And yet, she was so silly as we were out shopping having such a blast on Saturday and then we spent most of yesterday afternoon watching an Anne of Green Gables movie marathon on the Inspiration channel. It seems as though she is at that weird place I remember being as a 13 and 14 year old girl—the in-betweens. In between childhood and womanhood. It can be very confusing, as I recall. Wanting to be grown up and still feeling a connection with your childlike self and needing your mama. I hope she never loses needing her mama part or the silly part. I do love it so.

At the same time, I admire the woman she is becoming. One of her teachers told me in an email this past fall that Emma “is a fine student and exhibits a high level of self-respect for a teenager. You should be proud.” He is right. And I could not be more proud of her.

I hope you all are having a wonderful Monday and taking it for what it is…a new day that is filled with blessings and is, like Anne Shirley (Anne of Green Gables) says, “always fresh, with no mistakes in it.”

5 Comments

Filed under Emma, Family, Parenting

5 responses to “Monday Blues?

  1. Anne of Green Gables is something that spans the ages around here. It was my mom’s favorite and my daughter loves it, too. Funny, we’ve never watched the movies together before. We’ll have to do that the next time my mom visits.
    Good attitude for a Monday. Lots of wonderful blessings happen during the week. We need to be ready to see them.
    What a great teacher, sending a positive email like that.

  2. Oooo, I like that line of thinking…even if it means I have to apply it to Mondays!

I always love hearing from you! :-)

