How do you fight that post-holiday funk?

Round and round and round she goes. Where she stops…

Wait, what do you mean, “where she stops?”

She never stops!!

The merry-go-round of life never stops. And though it seems totally insane at times, that is how life is.

Kinda makes you feel sick looking at it, doesn't it?

Photo credit: bbbridget74

And such is the story of my life the last few weeks.

It has been filled with the hustle and bustle of the Christmas season and all that brings. We were blessed to have a wonderful time with family and friends. It really was a special time.

And then, it was over.

For me, there is always this thing I call “post-holiday funk”. Are you familiar with this? After all the awesomeness of the holidays and the family time and the delicious food, I come home and see the remnants of our Christmas. And I dread the de-Christmas-ing and the going back to school and the routine. And I miss my family already. And I am feeling behind before the new year even begins.

And I am running to get back on that merry-go-round, that has already started moving without me on it, by the way.

It is, in a word, depressing.

Are you following me so far?

I struggle with getting back in the groove. I know I am not the only one. And then I feel overwhelmed, like the world is spinning out of control, and then BOOM! I am paralyzed.

So, I take my moment, I feel sorry for myself, sigh deeply, whisper a prayer, and then, put on my big girl panties and move on. I mean, what else are you gonna do, right?

Then, I start trying to catch up. We un-decorate the tree. Haul it out to the backyard. The boys bring in the Christmas bins. I gingerly wrap each ornament and pack it away. Then I try to figure out how to get all the rest of the stuff back in the rest of the bins…I mean, it all came out of there, right? It must fit back in. Somehow. We locate the backpacks, lunchboxes and lesson plans that were all joyously tossed aside a couple of weeks ago.

And then it all starts back with a vengeance: school, show choir rehearsals, homeschool co-op, homework, et cetera….

And don’t get me started on the 18th birthday that is coming next month and the graduation that is happening in May! Yikes! I am not ready! That is another whole post and a whole different kind of funk, right there.

But I digress.

So, how do I fight the post-holiday funk?

This is the time I have to really make myself press in. I find myself on my knees more and reaching out to my girlfriends more and making myself go ahead and do those things I really don’t want to do. It keeps me from losing my sanity. It keeps me headed in a positive direction—keeping my eyes on what is important: faith, family, friends, loving others. It helps me fight against the procrastinator in me—and I have to fight that tooth and nail, I tell you!

Some days I am more successful than others.

“I’m not saying that I have this all together, that I have it made. But I am well on my way, reaching out for Christ, who has so wondrously reached out for me. Friends, don’t get me wrong: By no means do I count myself an expert in all of this, but I’ve got my eye on the goal, where God is beckoning us onward—to Jesus. I’m off and running, and I’m not turning back.” ~Philippians 3:13-14 The Message

So, join with me, y’all! Let’s fight the post-holiday funk and the procrastinator inside of us and face this new year head on! Looking onward and upward.

I know I can’t do it alone!

How do YOU fight the post-holiday funk?

6 Comments

Filed under Faith

6 responses to “How do you fight that post-holiday funk?

  1. Man, I remember when my oldest turned 18! I feel for you. Kinda bittersweet. This year I think because I really pushed myself with having a goal, I didn’t get in a funk at the New Year, now during the holidays, full on funk mode. Just wasn’t totally into the holidays for so many reasons. Glad they are over. Thanks for stopping by my blog and supporting in my weight loss journey. I used WW several years back and lost 60lbs but this time around I wanted to do it totally on my own (and with support from some great blogger friends of course). Good luck to you in getting back on the path for your own weight loss. You can do it. It starts with a single step and small changes (you know that as a WW member). Water at meals, small salads at most meals to help fill up more…I am using some of those habits that I learned at WW. Good luck.

  2. January is sucknuggets in my book. Maybe I enjoy Christmas too much, and if that’s the case well then I’ll take the seasonal depression that falls immediately after the holidays because I. love. them.
    And I won’t even hear talk about Jacob’s birthday and graduation, because my kid is not far behind. I am just one semester away from full-on freakout.

  3. I get the after Christmas funk myself. This year it wasn’t as bad, since we didn’t go back to school until the 7th. It was a nice, long break to help us ease into the hectic pace. Now that school is back in session, I curse it.
    I have found that inviting a constant stream of people to dinner/breakfast/brunch helps a lot. I am also a procrastinator, but it forces me to get myself organized and my butt in gear. I don’t like cleaning, but I don’t mind it if it is because friends and good times are coming. Prayer helps, too, as always.
    Oh, 18 and graduation makes me cry. Why didn’t I realize you had a child that old? Mine is only 14, heading to high school, but I’m already dreading the 18 and college. Probably because I know how fast high school will go by.
    And I’m done with my post-long comment.

    • I agree with the whole inviting people over tactic! Gives both company and motivation to clean up! I like it!

      Yes, my son will be *gulp* 18 next month and will graduate in May. It is crazy! And I will save the sad, sappy, weepy post for a later date! My daughter is 14 and just started high school this year. And I don’t think our son will be leaving us immediately, so that is a good thing! :-)

I always love hearing from you! :-)

