Thanksgiving Every Day. Day 19

It is a chilly, gray and drizzly start to Thanksgiving week here in South Carolina.

And as I look out the window, I find myself remembering when we lived in Iowa and it seemed that every day from November through March was a freezing, gray and windy day…often snowy. And though I do love my Iowa Peeps, I am thankful that chilly, gray and drizzly are not the norm for my current digs!

30 days of thankfulnessI have begun to reflect a bit on the coming week and what it means to me and my family. In this month of November, many of us, myself included, tend to really think about the things that we are thankful for…obviously the holiday is the impetus for that. But this year, more than any other, it seems, I keep asking myself why I don’t live in this state of gratitude the entire year. Every minute. Every day.

Don’t get me wrong, I am certainly not ungrateful every other month of the year. I consider myself a pretty grateful person. I do think about the blessings in my life and am truly humbled by how incredibly blessed I am.

But am I walking around with an attitude of thanksgiving in the every day things? Every. single. day?

I don’t think so.

I find myself grumbling at the mountain of laundry.

I worry about our finances.

I silently curse all the dishes as I load the dishwasher.

I sigh about having to schlep the kids all over everywhere.

Grumble. Worry. Curse. Sigh.

Where is the thanks?

Thank God I have a family who needs their clothes washed and a washing machine and dryer that still work after 20 years.

Thank God we have enough money to meet our monthly expenses.

Thank God I have a family to feed and enough food to feed them.

Thank God my children  are able to get out and do things they enjoy. Thank God we have a vehicle in order to schlep them!

May I be thankful in everything and for everything—big and small. May I strive to see every chore as a blessing. May I be thankful for what I do have instead of what I think we need.

In everything, give thanks.

May my 30 days of thanksgiving become 365 days of thanksgiving.

 

“In everything give thanks; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”       ~1 Thessalonians 5:18 (NASB)

Leave a comment

Filed under 30 Days of Thankfulness, Lessons

I always love hearing from you! :-)

