Dear Bigelow. Day 13

What will I do without you???Dear Bigelow Tea People,

SIGH.

Today, I am sad. You have made me sad.

I recently resurrected my hot tea addiction. Mainly, because I made a new friend who just moved back to the US from the UK and because all those Brits love them some hot tea. And I was feeling all British and inspired to revisit my love of tea. So, I ditched my dear friend Coffee (Sorry, Friend. It’s nothing personal. I do still love you.) and headed back on the hot tea wagon, to my pantry, and my box of Vanilla Almond tea.

You should know that I am no stranger to tea. I am a good Southern gal. And, as a good Southern gal,  I have a deep love and understanding of tea, mostly of the iced variety. Oh, and, of course, the sweet variety. Because, is there any other kind of iced tea? It flows in my veins, as it should all good Southerners. It’s as natural to me as Y’all and Bless Your Heart. But, my hot beverage of choice has been Coffee, lo, these last five years. That is until my recent foray back to hot tea, which I first fell in love with during our brief stint in the Midwest. Which is where I purchased my first box of your Vanilla Almond variety of tea, by the way. Oh, I made my way through many boxes of it before we moved back to the South. But one box had remained unopened in my cabinet since we moved here. Until about 3 weeks ago.

And since you so kindly individually package your tea bags (thank you very much for doing that, by the way), my Vanilla Almond was all nice and fresh when I opened that box which had travelled all the way across the county with me a few years ago.

But now, NOW, I am down to my last Vanilla Almond tea bag! Over the last few days, as I saw that I was running low, I looked for this yumminess at my local grocers. It was NOWHERE. So what did I do? What any techno savvy girl would do…I took to the internet.

Much to my dismay, I discovered that <GASP!> you have discontinued my favorite flavor! How could you??! I mean, I realize that this lone box of tea has been in my pantry for all this time and that if I had truly been faithful in my hot tea drinking, I might have known this in time to say, stock up like one of those crazy disaster-prep people stocks up their bomb shelter. And then I would have oh, maybe 30 or 40 boxes at my disposal, but that is beside the point!

But I digress.

The point is this: what am I to do now? Is there some sort of  Tea Black Market where I can purchase My Precious? And don’t even try to sell me on that Vanilla Chai or Vanilla Caramel or French Vanilla mess! Nope. No way.

I guess I should be thankful that I made a new friend, who rekindled my love of tea—and I am. I guess I should be thankful for the time I had you, Vanilla Almond—oh, I am! You were a good friend. Warming and comforting to the end. Maybe one day, I will find another to love, but until then, farewell, and I will slowly savor my last cup.

Thanks for the memories, Vanilla Almond.

SIGH.

I forgive you, Bigelow. I guess I will be okay.

But if you ever decide to resurrect Vanilla Almond, hook a sister up, okay?

With Affection,

Joell <tear sniff dab>

“Thank God for tea! What would the world do without tea! How did it exist? I am glad I was not born before tea.”
~ Sydney Smith, A memoir of the Rev. Sydney Smith

11 Comments

Filed under 30 Days of Thankfulness, Humor

11 responses to “Dear Bigelow. Day 13

  1. Pingback: Hot Tea, Warm Friendship. Day 15 | red van ramblings

  2. Found you on the Bloggy Mom’s blog hop. Oh I know your pain. I loved my caramel tea and they cancelled it. It’s all Chai and green teas in the store now. If I wanted green tea, I’d boil grass. I found a work around by buying the flavour shot stuff from a coffee shop. If there is a tea black market, I want to know about it.

    • Dang it! I feel you, girl! Don’t you just love when you love something and the manufacturer discontinues it…oh, a favorite bra style, a brand of tea, a style of jeans…It’s a bummer. But, alas, we must roll on, right? Great idea about the flavor shot. Maybe I can find some almond flavoring? If I locate the tea black market, you’ll be the next to know! Thanks so much for stopping by. I look forward to visiting your blog as well!

  3. I feel your pain. Vanilla-nut flavors are a favorite of mine in both coffee and tea. Stopping by from TALU

  4. My Dearest Joell,

    I was very dismayed to read your of your lamentation regarding your current tea troubles. I, too, have recently rediscovered my affection for the soothing hot liquid. Though, I have not had to endure such losses when it comes to your beloved beverage, I am deeply sympathetic having had a similar dilemma in the area of baked good. So, I do offer you my most sincere condolensces.

    But, as I see that we both share a love for the rich, dark nectar of the coffee bean, may I encourage you to take heart, coffee shall never disappoint!

    (Cheesy, yes, I know. But just call me Brie!)

    P.S. Yes, I did narrate in a British accent in my head while typing this.

  5. Oh oh oh. So sad, but HAVE I GOT THE TEA FOR YOU! At least I think you’ll like it :) will bring some Thursday and if I REALLY get my act together ill bring you some in a hot cup ready to go as well. Milk and sugar?

  6. You should try your hot tea Malaysian style: half an inch of sweetened condensed milk anchoring the cup. It’s especially good with Chai.

I always love hearing from you! :-)

